VOTE Max Hall for the Davey O'Brien Award | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

VOTE Max Hall for the Davey O'Brien Award

For the second-year in a row, Max Hall is on the watch list for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. In 2008, Hall was a semifinalist for the award. (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

This is your opportunity to MAXimize your vote!


BYU has a rich tradition of Davey O’Brien Award-winning quarterbacks. From the inaugural award winner in Jim McMahon, to the two-time winner in Ty Detmer, no school has captured more Davey O’Brien Awards than BYU.

Cougar fans can support Max Hall for the 2008 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award by visiting

Beginning Sept. 8 fans will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite quarterback until the voting closes at noon CST on Oct. 25. The O'Brien selection committee will then select the top 12 candidates as semifinalists. In 2008 Hall was named a semifinalist by the committee.

Beginning Oct. 26 fans will choose from the top 12 until the voting closes at noon CST on Nov. 22. The fan vote will count for 5% of the overall finalist vote. The three candidates with the most votes will be submitted to the Davey O’Brien Executive Committee for approval. Finalists will be announced on Nov. 23

Hall was named O’Brien Quarterback of the Week for week one of the 2009 season. Hall threw for 329 yards and two touchdown passes leading BYU to an upset win over the then ranked No. 3 Sooners, 14-13.



Tags: Feature