Young Selected for Induction to College Football Hall of Fame | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Young Selected for Induction to College Football Hall of Fame

NEW -- The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Chairman Jon F. Hanson and Honors Chairman Gene Gorrigan today announced the names of the 2001 Division IA College Football Hall of Fame inductees. Among the 15 former collegiate players and three head coaches, BYU All-American and NFL MVP Steve Young.

One of the greatest collegiate quarterbacks of all time, Steve Young was consistently at the top of all the nation's statistical categories for quarterbacks en route to setting 13 NCAA records. As a junior, he averaged 318.8 yards per game of total offense, earning All-Western Athletic Conference recognition and Conference Player-of-the-Year honors.

In his senior season, he repeated as a first-team All-WAC selection, completed 306-of-429 pass attempts for an impressive .713 percentage and led BYU to their second straight Holiday Bowl. His .713 completion percentage, along with 3,802 yards passing, 4,246 yards of total offense and 33 touchdowns all led the nation. Few rival Young's career totals. He completed 592-of-907 attempts for a .652 average, threw for 7,733 yards and 56 touchdowns and his 8,817 yards of total offense in only 31 is among college football's all-time greatest career numbers.

A unanimous All-American and academic All-WAC selection, Young was the runner-up for the Heisman Trophy and received a National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete Award in recognition for his excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community -- a tradition he maintains today with the successful Forever Young Foundation.

Young recently retired after 15 seasons in the NFL, where he earned tow MVP awards, seven trips to the Pro Bowl and led the San Francisco 49'ers to the Super Bowl Championship in 1995, earning most-valuable-player honors.

Young is the fourth BYU quarterback to be inducted in to the College Football Hall of Fame. Gifford Nielsen was inducted in 1994, Marc Wilson was selected in 1996 and Jim McMahon was honored by the Hall in 1998.

Others being inducted include, Jon Arnett (Southern California, Halfback, 1954-56), Kevin Butler (Georgia, Placekicker, 1981-84), Anthony Carter (Michigan, Wide Receiver, 1979-82), Dick Duden (Navy, End, 1943-45), Tim Green (Syracuse, Defensive Tackle, 1983-85), Ralph Guglielmi (Notre Dame, Quarterback, 1951-54), John Hicks (Ohio State, Tackle, 1970, 1972-73), Keith Jackson (Oklahoma, Tight End, 1984-87), Terry Kinard (Clemson, Defensive Back, 1979-82), D.D. Lewis (Mississippi State, Linebacker, 1965-67 ), Donald McCauley (North Carolina, Running Back, 1968-70), John Outland (Kansas, Pennsylvania, Tackle, 1895, 1897-99), Glenn Ressler (Penn State, Lineman, 1962-64), Brad Van Pelt (Michigan State, Defensive Back, 1970-72), Barry Switzer (Oklahoma, 1973-1988, 157-29-4), Grant Teaff, McMurry, Angelo State, Baylor, 1960-92, 170-151-8), Bill Yeoman (Houston, 1962-86, 160-108-8)