Cougars Receive Invite to NCAA West Regional | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Cougars Receive Invite to NCAA West Regional

Winner of the Conference Player of the Year, Jake Ellison looks to have a great round in Tucscon (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- BYU's eighth-ranked men's golf team earned an invitation to the NCAA West Regional the NCAA Golf Committee announed on Monday.

The Cougars earned the No. 3 seed in the tournament and look to improve on a stellar performance in last year's event. BYU finished in sixth place overall last year, earning a right to play in the prestigious NCAA Championships. The Cougars are gunning for their third consecutive top ten finish.

Head Coach Bruce Brockbank said he is confident his team will be prepared to play in Tucson, Ariz. at the Tucson National Golf Club. Earlier this year, BYU played the Tucson National before winning the PING Arizona Intercollegiate on the Arizona National Golf Club in one of their best performances of the season.

"Our guys are very focused and know that nothing is a given," he said. "If we play how we are capable of playing, we have a great chance of winning this tournament and moving on."

The top ten teams in the West Regional get an invitation to the NCAA Championships which run from May 31-June 3. The NCAA Championships are played in Sunriver, OR, where BYU recently played for the MWC Championships.

Three regional tournaments will be conducted May 18-20 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies will apply.

A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

"We've had success at this golf course," Brockbank said. "This is a really tough field and we need to be at the top of our game."

First round action begins Thursday, May 18th. Live scoring is available on

Teams (According to Seed)

1. Florida

2. Arizona State

3. Brigham Young

4. East Tennessee State

5. Baylor

6. Alabama

7. Arizona

8. San Diego State

9. North Carolina State

10. Washington

11. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)

12. Stanford

13. Houston

14. Pepperdine

15. Louisville

16. Denver

17. Santa Clara

18. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)

19. Fresno State

20. UC-Irvine

21. Nevada

22. San Diego

23. Cal Poly (Big West Conference)

24. Western Kentucky (Sun Belt Conference)

25. Loyola Marymount (West Coast Conference)

26. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

27. Bucknell (Patriot League).