Johnson Named All-Conference | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Johnson Named All-Conference

Junior Brady Johnson was named to the 2008-09 All-Conference team after leading the team with a 72.85 stroke average, 13th overall in the MWC.

TUSCON -- Coming off a strong year of competition, junior Brady Johnson has been honored as a member of the 2008-09 All-Mountain West Conference men's golf team.

The Mill Bay, British Columbia native is coming off a strong year in which he finished in the Top 10 at three different tournaments and had one other Top 20 performance. He came in seventh place at the Baylor Intercollegiate at 3-over-par after posting a fall season round-low of 69 in the second round. He followed that up with a ninth-place finish at the Pacific Invitational.

Brady scored collegiate career-low rounds of 68 in the opening rounds of the John A. Burns Invitational and the USC Intercollegiate, along with the first and third rounds of the Cougar Classic. At the USC tourney, he finished in fifth place overall at 4-under-par. His best finish of the year came at the Cougar Classic with a second-place performance at 10-under-par, helping the team to its first victory of the year.

He completed the recent MWC championship in 24th place at 4-over-par, culminating with a 4-over third round at the par-71 Omni Tuscon National Golf Course.

Johnson owns a 3.66 cumulative GPA as a global supply chain management major. He earned Academic All-MWC following his sophomore year in 2008 and earned a MWC Scholar-Athlete award by having a GPA higher than 3.5 and being a significant contributor to the team. He has also been listed multiple times on BYU’s International Student Honor Roll.

New Mexico’s Steve Saunders was selected as the MWC Golfer of the Year, while freshman Zahkai Brown of Colorado State was named Freshman Golfer of the Year. TCU head coach Bill Montigel was picked as the MWC Coach of the Year.

2008-09 All-Conference Team

Golfer of the Year

Steve Saunders, Sr., New Mexico

Freshman of the Year

Zahkai Brown, Colorado State

Coach of the Year

Bill Montigel, TCU

All-Conference Team

Tom Whitney, Jr., Air Force

Brady Johnson, Jr., BYU

Steve Saunders, Sr., New Mexico

Zen Brown, Sr., Colorado State

Dustin Morris, Jr., Colorado State

Johan Carlsson, So., San Diego State

Derek Ernst, Fr., UNLV

Eddie Olson, Jr., UNLV

Johan de Beer, Fr., TCU

James Sacheck, Sr., TCU