Three Prep Golfers Ink National Letters of Intent | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Three Prep Golfers Ink National Letters of Intent

Bruce Brockbank adds three golfers as he enters his 19th year as head coach. (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- Three high school golfers signed letters of intent recently to join the BYU men’s golf team in 2010.

Joining Justin Keiley (Haiku, Hawaii, Baldwin HS) are local products Joe Parkinson (Alpine, Utah, Lone Peak HS) and Cole Ogden (Syracuse, Utah, Syracuse HS).

“They are all good players and solid competitors,” said BYU men’s golf head coach Bruce Brockbank. “I think they will be able to push our returning golfers and make the team better.”

Keiley joins the Cougars after an impressive prep career in which he was named the 2009 Hawaii State Junior Golfer of the Year. Along with multiple national tournament appearances, Keiley’s most recent success was qualifying for the 2010 US Junior Am National Championship at Egypt Valley Golf Club in Michigan starting July 19.

Parkinson recently won the 2010 Utah State Amateur on July 11 after entering the tournament as an alternate. The Alpine native shot par on the par-4 18th hole to defeat Stuart Gold, 2 up, in a 36-hole final round to join current Cougar Zac Blair and Brockbank as Cougars who have won the event. Immediately following his victory, Parkinson opened his mission call to the Florida Tampa (Spanish-speaking) Mission. Parkinson will compete for BYU after completing his missionary service.

Ogden finished second at the Utah State High School Golf Championships, shooting rounds of 70 and 68 for a two-day total of 138. He also made the match play field of 32 in the 2010 Utah State Amateur.

Cougars That Have Won the Utah State Amateur Championship

Joe Parkinson 2010

Zac Blair 2009

Daniel Summerhays 2000-01

Billy Harvey 1999

Jason Wight 1995

Brad Sutterfield 1992

Bruce Brockbank 1987-88

Mark Davis 1984

Steve Schneiter 1982

Erich Gott 1980

Jimmy Blair 1973

Keith Rusty Guernsey 1971

Ray Leach 1970

Jack Chapman 1969

Craig Ridd 1967