Azevedo Garners Another MWC Award | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Azevedo Garners Another MWC Award

BYU senior Jorge Azevedo won his third MWC Swimmer of the Week award. (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- BYU senior Jorge Azevedo and Wyoming junior Tyler Miller were named Mountain West Conference Men's Swimmer and Diver of the Week, respectively, while San Diego State swept the women's honors with senior Brittany Daly and junior Megan Flanagan earning swimming and diving plaudits.

Azevedo helped the Cougars defeat Utah (189-100) and clinch the Conference men's regular-season crown by placing first in two individual events and one relay race. He won the 100 backstroke with a time of 49.96, while touching the wall in a time of 48.11 in the 100 butterfly. His time in the 100 butterfly established a new Richards Building Pool record. He then helped the 400 freestyle relay team set a new season record by turning in a time of 3:01.30.

Miller was the highest-placing MWC diver in both springboard events at the 2008 Air Force Diving Invitational, placing third in the 1-meter and 3-meter events. He also finished second in the platform event. In the 1-meter dive he turned in a score of 287.15, while collecting 295.70 points in the 3-meter dive. Both scored were personal-bests. In the platform he scored a personal-best 247.05.

Daly helped San Diego State to a 156-136 win over San Diego, turning in two individual wins. She swam a season-best 10:39.83 to claim victory in the 1,000 freestyle and then went on to capture the 500 freestyle crown with a personal and team season-best time of 5:09.75.

Flanagan opened the diving competition against USD by establishing a new school and pool record on the 3-meter board with a personal-best score of 300.83, securing a spot in the NCAA Zone E Diving Regionals. She then went on to record the fourth-highest score in school history on the 1-meter board with a season-best 263.40 (fifth-place finish).

2007-08 Swimmers and Divers of the Week

Men's Swimmer: Oct. 18 - Richard Hortness, Sr., UNLV;

Oct. 25 - Bryan Avery, Jr., Air Force;

Oct. 31 - Garrett Beaman, Fr., Utah;

Nov. 7 - Scott McCracken, Sr., TCU;

Nov. 14 - Jorge Azevedo, Sr., BYU;

Nov. 21 - Travis Price, Sr., BYU;

Dec. 5 - Jonathan Berrettini, Sr., TCU;

Dec. 20 -- Jonathan Berrettini, Sr., TCU;

Jan. 9 -- Johan Claar, Sr., UNLV;

Jan. 16 -- Jorge Azevedo, Sr., BYU;

Jan. 23 -- Jonas Andersson, Sr., UNLV;

Jan. 30 -- Sam King, Sr., Wyoming;

Feb. 6 -- Jorge Azevedo, Sr., BYU.

Men's Diver: Oct. 18 - Kyle Van Valkenburg, So., Air Force;

Oct. 25 - R.J. Hesselberg, Jr., TCU;

Oct. 31 - R.J. Hesselberg, Jr., TCU;

Nov. 7 - R.J. Hesselberg, Jr., TCU;

Nov. 14 - R.J. Hesselberg, Jr., TCU;

Nov. 21 - R.J. Hesselberg, Jr., TCU;

Dec. 5 - R.J. Hesselberg, Jr., TCU;

Dec. 20 -- Kyle Callens, Fr., TCU;

Jan. 9 -- None;

Jan. 16 - R.J. Hesselberg, Jr., TCU;

Jan. 23 -- Mark Murdock, Fr., Wyoming;

Jan. 30 -- Mark Murdock, Fr., Wyoming;

Feb. 6 -- Tyler Miller, Jr., Wyoming.

Women's Swimmer: Oct. 18 - Aleesha Miller, Fr., BYU;

Oct. 25 - Aimee Stinson, Jr., Wyoming;

Oct. 31 - Rachel Grant, Fr., BYU;

Nov. 7 - Megan Evans, So., Wyoming;

Nov. 14 - Rachel Grant, Fr., BYU;

Nov. 21 - Natasha Menezes, So., BYU;

Dec. 5 -- Kim Bonney, Sr., UNLV and Megan Evans, So., Wyoming;

Dec. 13 -- Lesley Young, Fr., Wyoming;

Dec. 20 -- Bailey Kuestermeyer, Jr., UNLV;

Jan. 9 -- Jessica Morrill, So., San Diego State;

Jan. 16 -- Rachel Grant, Fr., BYU;

Jan. 23 -- Marina Sandback, Sr., UNLV;

Jan. 30 -- Maria Alvarez, Fr., TCU and Lara Sreibers, Fr., UNLV;

Feb. 6 -- Brittany Daly, Sr., San Diego State.

Women's Diver: Oct. 18 - Angela Nelson, Sr., BYU;

Oct. 25 - None;

Oct. 31 - Carrie Quinn, Sr., New Mexico;

Nov. 7 - Brittany Wainwright, Sr., Wyoming;

Nov. 14 - Tawni Jones, So., BYU;

Nov. 21 - Kwan Ling Yu, Fr., Utah;

Dec. 5 -- None;

Dec. 13 -- Carrie Quinn, Sr., New Mexico;

Dec. 20 -- Wendy Williams, Sr., UNLV;

Jan. 9 -- Caitlin Atkinson, So., San Diego State;

Jan. 16 -- Tawni Jones, So., BYU;

Jan. 23 -- Brittany Wainwright, Sr., Wyoming;

Jan. 30 -- Ava Jackman, So., BYU;

Feb. 6 - Megan Flanagan, Jr., San Diego State.

Tags: Results