BYU Swimming Teams Picked to Win Conference | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

BYU Swimming Teams Picked to Win Conference

COLORADO SRPINGS, Colo. -- The three-time Mountain West Conference Champion, Brigham Young University, has been selected by league coaches to win its fourth consecutive men's and women's swimming and diving conference titles.

For the men's side BYU gathered 16 votes beating out Air Force by four votes, with UNLV coming in third with 11 votes. BYU received four of the five first-place votes with Air Force receiving one. The Cougars won last season's conference title by more than 200 points, and will be returning 18 lettermen after losing just one senior from last year's squad. Among those returning is senior diver and two-time second-team All-American Aaron Russell.

For the fourth consecutive year the BYU women are picked to win the championship garnering 47 points and picking up six of the eight first-place votes. Colorado State gathered 40 points and one first-place vote to come in second, and UNLV claimed the third spot with 39 points, also receiving one first-place vote. The BYU women are returning 20 athletes from last season's squad including Jamie Lambert the team's NCAA finals qualifier and MWC Champion in the 100-yard breaststroke,

Preseason Men's Swimming & Diving Poll	Preseason Women's Swimming & Diving Poll

Pl. Team (1st place votes) Points Pl. Team (1st place votes) Points

1. BYU (4) 16 1. BYU (6) 47

2 Air Force (1) 12 2. Colorado State (1) 40

3. UNLV 11 3. UNLV (1) 39

4. Utah 6 4. Utah 34

5. Wyoming 5 5. New Mexico 19

6. SDSU 17

7. Air Force 16

8. Wyoming 12