MWC Selects 13 as Scholar-Athletes | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

MWC Selects 13 as Scholar-Athletes

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- Thirteen BYU swim and dive student-athletes were honored with the Mountain West Scholar-Athlete award Wednesday.

This prestigious award is given to student-athletes who completed at least two academic terms at BYU while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

The honorees from the men’s team include Travis Day, Matthew Hopper, David Scott, Vytenis Slenys and Scott Thalman.

From the women’s team Sara Jayne Baldwin, Kelsey Dickenson, Kelsey Higginson, Michelle Menezes, Natasha Menezes, Erin Pabst, Meagan Stone and Emily Woods were selected.

All together, the BYU swim and dive team made up 13 out of the total 108 student-athletes from BYU that qualified for this award.

The Cougar swim and dive team had the highest amount of student-athletes to qualify out of any other swim and dive team in the conference. The other teams’ totals includes New Mexico with 12, Colorado State with 11, Wyoming with ten, TCU with eight, University of Utah with eight, UNLV with eight and SDSU with two.