Perry and Nelson to Compete at USA's Outdoor Championships | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Perry and Nelson to Compete at USA's Outdoor Championships

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- Senior and junior All-Americans, Kyle Perry and Richard Nelson, will compete at the 2009 USA Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Eugene, Ore. beginning Thursday.

Both Cougars earned their tickets to the meet after placing in the top ten of the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the NCAA National Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Fayetteville, Ark. two weeks ago.

The top three finalists in each event will advance to the 2009 IAAF World Championships in Berlin, Germany.

Perry landed the first-place NCAA national champion title with a personal best time of 8:29.24. He enters the competition ranked sixth of 23 entries and will be running for New Balance.

"I'm very excited for a shot at representing the USA in Berlin," said Perry. "I like my chances. I'll be running for New Balance, and it's great to have that opportunity as well."

Nelson joins him after placing 10th at NCAA nationals with a time of 8:50.08, earning his first All-America honor. Going into the race, Nelson is seeded 16th with a time of 8:41.85.

Competing alongside Perry and Nelson in the steeplechase is former BYU athlete and Olympian, Josh McAdams. McAdams is seeded fourth with a time of 8:21.99.

The championships will kick off Thursday with the junior men’s decathlon beginning at 9 a.m. PT. The first round of the men’s steeplechase is scheduled for 7:25 p.m. PT.

For a live streaming video of the events beginning Thursday click here.


Cougars Competing at USA’s


Name Event Schedule/Results

Kyle Perry 3,000m steeplechase Heat 1: Thurs. at 7:25 p.m.

Josh McAdams 3,000m steeplechase Heat 1: Thurs. at 7:25 p.m.

Richard Nelson 3,000m steeplechase Heat 2: Thurs. at 7:25 p.m.


Cougar Outdoor National Champions


Name Event Year

Kyle Perry 3000-meter steeplechase 2009

Niklas Arrhenius Discus 2007

Josh McAdams 3000-meter steeplechase 2006

Rodrigo Mendes Triple Jump 2005

Robison Pratt Pole Vault 2005

Leonard Myles-Mills 100m 1999, 1998

Frank Fredericks 100m, 200m 1991

Ed Eyestone 5,000m, 10,000m 1985

Ed Eyestone 10,000m 1984

Tito Steiner Decathlon 1981, 1977

Keith Gardenkrans Discus 1980

Raimo Pihl Decathlon 1975, 1973

Runald Backman Decathlon 1974

Paul Cummings Mile 1974

Zdravko Pecar Discus 1974

Ralph Mann 440mH 1971, 1970, 1969

Mike Louisiana Discus 1971

Perti Pousi Triple Jump 1969

Perti Pousi Long Jump 1968

Bob Richards 3000-meter steeplechase 1966

Bob Tobler 440 yards 1964