Six Cougars Honored in All-MPSF | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Six Cougars Honored in All-MPSF

(Photo by Jonathan Hardy/BYU Photo)

PROVO - Six members of the BYU men's volleyball team received All-MPSF Honors, as announced by the conference Thursday. 

Senior Futi Tavana and sophomore Taylor Sander were named to the All-MPSF First Team. Seniors Robb Stowell and Joe Kauliakamoa, and junior Russ Lavaja were named to the All-MPSF Second Team with redshirt freshman Josue Rivera named to the All-MPSF Freshman Team. 

Tavana is the career blocks leader in BYU's rally scoring era and is currently fourth in the nation for his 1.51 blocks per set this year. Sander leads the 2012 squad with 286 kills and a 4.82 kills-per-set average to place him second in the nation. 

Just a few weeks ago Stowell became the career kills leader in BYU's rally scoring era with 1,532 total kills in his four-year career. Kauliakamoa has paced the Cougar squad this season to a .325 hitting percentage with 10.92 assists per set. Lavaja is third on BYU's rally scoring era leaderboard for his career blocks and is currently seventh in the nation for his blocks per set. 

Rivera is third on the team for his 244 kills this season and second for his .265 attack. 

USC men's volleyball senior Tony Ciarelli and freshman Micah Christenson were honored with MPSF Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year awards, respectively. 

Come see the 4th-ranked Cougars as they host a conference quarterfinal match this Saturday, April 21, at 7 p.m. MT in the Smith Fieldhouse. Tickets are on sale through

ALL-MSPF First Team
Name Year School
Tony Ciarelli Senior USC
Taylor Sander Sophomore BYU
Brad Lawson Senior Stanford
Carson Clark Senior UC Irvine
Kevin Tillie Junior UC Irvine
Thomas Amberg Senior UCLA
Kyle Caldwell Senior UCLA
Erik Shoji Senior Stanford
Futi Tavana Senior BYU
Maurice Torres Junior Pepperdine
Weston Dunlap Senior UCLA
Jeremy Dejno Sophomore UC Irvine
All-MSPF Second Team
Name Year School
Steven Shandrick Senior USC
Micah Christenson Freshman USC
Gonzalo Quiroga Sophomore UCLA
Joe Kauliakamoa Senior BYU
Evan Barry Senior Stanford
Dan McDonnell Senior UC Irvine
Robb Stowell Senior BYU
Taylor Crabb Sophomore Long Beach State
Brian Cook Sophomore Stanford
Russ Lavaja Junior BYU
Steven Hunt Senior Hawaii
Javier Caceres Sophomore Pacific
All-MPSF Honorable Mention
Name Year School
Matt Pollock Senior Pepperdine
Chase Frishman Junior UC San Diego
Florian Gornik Senior Pacific
Steven Irvin Sophomore Stanford
Eric Mochalski Sophomore Stanford
Taylor Hughes Junior Pacific
Henry Cassiday Sophomore USC
Matt West Freshman Pepperdine
Robert Feathers Freshman USC
Carl Eberts Junior UC San Diego
Tanner Jansen Sophomore USC
Evan Mottram Sophomore UCLA
Brandon Lebrock Sophomore CSUN
Nick Castello Senior Hawaii
All-MPSF Freshman Team
Name Year School
Micah Christenson Freshman USC
Josh Taylor Freshman Pepperdine
Matt West Freshman Pepperdine
Julius Hoefer Freshman  CSUN
Robert Feathers Freshman USC
Matt Tarantino Freshman Pepperdine
Josue Rivera Freshman  BYU