Six Cougars named MWC Scholar-Athletes | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Six Cougars named MWC Scholar-Athletes

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- The Mountain West Conference announced its 2009-10 Scholar-Athlete Award recipients Thursday with a total of 548 student-athletes honored, including six BYU men’s volleyball players.

The MWC Scholar-Athlete Award is one of the highest academic honors bestowed by the Conference. To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least two academic terms at the member institution, while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better, and have participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.

Senior Reed Chilton maintained a 3.53 GPA in Civil Engineering, junior Erik Mayer achieved a 3.90 in Neuroscience, junior Kevin Sagers tallied a 3.75 in Exercise Science, junior Quentin Smith earned a 3.80 in Finance, senior Matthew Taylor had a 3.75 in Exercise Science and senior Kent Tuttle earned a 3.63 in Latin American Studies.

BYU is the only MWC school that offers men’s volleyball; the team officially competes in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation.