Six Cougars Receive All-MPSF Honors | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Six Cougars Receive All-MPSF Honors

PROVO -- BYU men's volleyball head coach Tom Peterson was named Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Co-Coach of the Year Wednesday, and five players were also honored in the All-MPSF selections.

Sophomore setter Carlos Moreno and junior opposite Jonathan Alleman were named to the All-MPSF Second-Team, senior outside hitter Rafael Paal was named to the Third-Team and sophomore outside hitter Michael Burke and junior libero Fernando Pessoa were given Honorable Mention honors.

"It's a great honor to be named myself," Peterson said. " Being in the best league in the nation, I think it means that our team did some great things."

Peterson said that although no BYU players were named to the All-MPSF First-Team, having five players named to the other teams is indicative of what they do as a team. Instead of having just one or two stand-out players, the Cougars strive to work together and perform as a team.

Peterson shares his Co-Coach of the Year honors with Jeff Campbell of Cal State Northridge and Joe Wortmann of the University of the Pacific. Hawaii's Costats Theocharidis was named Player of the Year and Long Beach State's Tyler Hildebrand was named Freshman of the Year. A complete listing of the All-MPSF teams can be found at