Six Earn MPSF All-Academic Award | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Six Earn MPSF All-Academic Award

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO, Utah -- The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation has announced the MPSF All-Academic Scholar Athletes for 2011 and included six honorees from the BYU men's volleyball team.

Seniors Kevin Sagers, Jeff Robinson and BJ Hiapo with juniors Futi Tavana and Robb Stowell join sophomore Ryan Boyce as the representatives for BYU's squad to earn the Academic award.

The athletes have been nominated for this award based on the criteria that they maintain a 3.00 GPA or better, they have one full academic year completed and have participated in fifty percent or more of the institution's competitions.

The following is a breakdown of the

student athletes from BYU:

1. Futi Tavana, Junior, Middle Blocker - 3.01

2. Jeff Robinson, Senior, Libero - 3.25

3. BJ Hiapo, Senior, Libero - 3.13

4. Ryan Boyce, Sophomore, Setter - 3.36

5. Robb Stowell, Junior, Opposite - 3.25

6. Kevin Sagers, Senior, Outside Hitter - 3.71