Wall, Acosta Earn MPSF First-Team Honors | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Wall, Acosta Earn MPSF First-Team Honors

PROVO -- For the fourth time in the past five seasons, two Cougars have earned All-MPSF First-Team honors. Senior Mike Wall and Joaquin Acosta were named to the All-MPSF First-Team on Wednesday following a vote of the league's head coaches.

Top-ranked Pepperdine is the only other team with two first-team selections, including the MPSF Player of the Year Brad Keenan and Beau Daniels. Stanford's Curt Toppel, Hawaii's Costa Theocaridis and UCLA's Adam Schrader round out the 2002 All-MPSF First Team.

In addition to Wall and Acosta, sophomore middle blocker Chris Gorny and junior middle blocker Rafael Paal both earned All-MPSF honorable-mention honors.

Wall leads the Cougars with 517 kills, averaging 4.92 kills per game. Wall, a 2001 first-team selection, is hitting .353 on the year, connecting on 517 of 976 attempts. Wall has registered 10 or more kills in 28 of the Cougars' 29 matches this season. He recorded a season-high 33 kills on Saturday, leading BYU to a 3-2 win over Stanford in the first round of the MPSF Tournament.

Acosta, a senior from San Juan, Puerto Rico, has 416 kills on 782 attempts, averaging 4.08 kills per game. Acosta is hitting .376 on the season, including a team season-high .765 (14-1-17) against Concordia on March 8. The 6-foot-5 outside hitter also hit a blistering .643 (20-2-28) against UC Santa Barbara on March 29.

Paal, a transfer from Cal Baptist, leads the Cougars in hitting efficiency (194-46-354; .418), aces (38) and digs (177). Gorny, a 6-foot-6 middle blocker, leads BYU with 141 blocks on the season, averaging 1.36 stops per game.

The Cougars will take on top-ranked Pepperdine on Thursday, April 25 in the semifinal round of the MPSF Tournament. Should the Cougars defeat the Waves in Malibu, BYU will await the winner of the Hawaii-UC Santa Barbara for the championship match on Saturday, April 26. The winner of this weekend's MPSF Tournament will earn the league's automatic bid to the NCAA National Championship tournament at Penn State on May 2-4.