Academic Awards | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Academic Awards

G.P.A. Board

All student-athletes who earn a G.P.A. of 3.5 and above in a semester will have their picture posted the next semester on the Scholar Athlete Bulletin Board in the Student Athlete Building. The G.P.A. board will be updated after Fall and Winter semesters.

Scholar Athlete Banquet

All Athletes who earn a 3.5 G.P.A. either Fall or Winter semesters will be honored at a yearly banquet in February sponsored by the Student Athlete Academic Center. Athletes recognized as Zion's Bank Academic Salute Athletes are presented with a plaque acknowledging their academic success.

Lowe's Academic Salute

Twelve Student-Athletes are selected each year with one overall winner. Athletes are honored at the Cougar Club Banquet in February and also spotlighted at the home football and basketball games. Athletes are selected on the following criteria:

  • Minimum GPA of 3.5 or better
  • Outstanding Leadership
  • Exemplary Community Service
  • Athletic Achievement

Academic All-Conference

All who meet the following criteria shall be named Academic All-Conference. They will receive certificates and/or medals.

  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better
  • Must have competed in 50 percent of the team's varsity contests

Scholar-Athlete Award

The Scholar-Athlete Award is the most prestigious academic award conferred by the Mountain West Conference. Scholar-Athlete Award recipients shall receive an engraved plaque from the Conference office. The award will be presented each spring to student-athletes who meet the following criteria:

  • Have completed at least two semesters at BYU
  • Have earned at least a 3.5 cumulative GPA
  • Have completed in at least one varsity contest

Verizon Academic All-America Team

The Verizon Academic All-America Teams Program annually names and honors 700 student-athletes who excel in the classroom and on the playing field. To be eligible, a student-athlete must:

  • Be nominated by his/her sports information director
  • Hold a minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA
  • Be a starter or key reserve on his/her varsity team
  • Have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing

Verizon Academic All-America Hall of Fame

The Verizon Academic All-America Hall of Fame was created in 1988 to honor former Academic All-America Team Members who have achieved high accomplishments in their professions and made substantial contributions to their communities.

NCAA Awards and Honors

The Theodore Roosevelt Award

The highest honor the NCAA may confer on an individual, is presented each year to a distinguished citizen of national reputation and outstanding accomplishment who was a varsity letter-winner in college.

Today's Top VIII Awards

The Today's Top VIII Awards provide the NCAA with the opportunity to honor eight outstanding senior student-athletes of the preceding calendar year. From 1973 through 1985, this award was known as the Today's Top V Award and from 1986 through 1994, it was known as the Today's Top VI Award. The Criteria is as follows:

  • Athletics ability and achievement: 50 percent
  • Academic achievement: 25 percent
  • Character, leadership and activities: 25 percent

Silver Anniversary Awards

Recognize six distinguished former student-athletes on their 25th anniversary as college graduates.

Award of Valor

A special award that is not presented on an annual basis. Selection is based on heroic action occurring in the calendar year ended just before the NCAA Honors Dinner.

Inspiration Award

A special award that is not presented on an annual basis. Selection is based on inspirational action occurring in the calendar year ended just before the NCAA Honors Dinner.

NCAA Woman of the Year Award

The NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors senior student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. The overall winner is selected from ten finalists.

NCAA Sportsmanship Award

The NCAA Sportsmanship Award honors student-athletes whom, through their actions in the competitive arena of intercollegiate athletics, have demonstrated one or more of the ideals of sportsmanship, including fairness, civility, honesty, unselfishness, respect and responsibility. Selections are made by the NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct. This award was first presented in 1999 as the Outstanding Sportspersons of the Year Award. The award was renamed the NCAA Sportsmanship Award in 2001. For more information on NCAA Awards visit