2012-13 women's basketball schedule announced

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO, Utah (Aug. 20, 2012) – The 2012-13 BYU women’s basketball nonconference and league schedule has been finalized. The Cougars’ schedule includes nine teams that participated in last season’s postseason play as well as three opponents from the Pac-12. Also on the schedule are two teams from the Ivy League and two from the WAC.

“We are excited to be playing teams that come from strong conferences that will either win or come in second in their respective leagues including three from the Pac-12,”  said head coach Jeff Judkins.

“This is a very competitive schedule that should help us with our RPI and give us an edge to getting into the postseason NCAA tournament.”

BYU opens the 2012-13 campaign hosting instate rival Weber State on Friday, Nov. 9. The following week the women head to the northeast playing at Dartmouth, Boston University and Harvard between Nov. 13 and Nov. 16.The team remains on the road for two games against Pac-12 foes Arizona on Nov. 20 and Washington State on Nov. 24.

For the first time in recent years, the Cougar women will play a game in Salt Lake City at Energy Solutions Arena hosting Creighton from the Missouri Valley on Wed. Nov. 28. The matchup with the Bluejays is part of a double-header with the BYU men’s basketball team who host Montana. The women tip off at 4 p.m., while the men get on the court at 7 p.m.

Two instate rival teams are on tap the following week. BYU hosts Utah State on Tues. Dec. 4 before traveling to Salt Lake City for a matchup against Utah on Sat. Dec. 8 at the Huntsman Center.

The Cougar women round out the nonconference portion of the schedule with three home games. On Sat. Dec. 15 they host Tulsa, from Conference USA, then it’s UC Santa Barbara at the Marriott Center on Tues. Dec. 18 with the final game set for Thurs. Dec. 20 against Seattle University.

In its second season competing in the West Coast Conference (WCC), the reigning 2012 WCC tournament champions BYU look to finish at the top of the league standings. Last year the team finished the WCC race in second place with a 12-4 mark.

“I think this year’s schedule is very balanced and we have some tough road games right at the start, including playing at Gonzaga early on,” added Judkins.

“Our league will be very competitive this year with many schools returning their top players so every game is going to be critical if we want to finish at the top.”

The Cougars open league play at home hosting San Francisco on Jan. 5 with additional games in the Marriott Center on Jan. 12 against Pepperdine, Jan. 24 vs. LMU and Saint Mary’s on Jan. 31. Three road games in January take BYU to San Diego on Jan. 10, to Gonzaga on Jan. 17 and to San Francisco on Jan. 26.

In February the Cougars continue league action at Santa Clara on Feb. 2, at Saint Mary’s on Feb. 9 and at Pepperdine on Feb. 16. 

WCC foes come to the Marriott Center beginning with the Toreros of San Diego on Feb. 7 and the Broncos of Santa Clara on Feb. 14.  BYU will play two additional home games in February, hosting Portland on Feb. 21 and Gonzaga on Feb. 23.

The team is scheduled to play its final two league games of the season on the road at LMU on Feb. 28 and at Portland on Mar. 2. 

The 2013 West Coast Conference Basketball Championships return to Las Vegas on Mar. 6 at the Orleans Arena. The title game will be televised live nationally on ESPNU Monday, Mar. 11.

Date Opponent Location
2012-13 Women's Basketball Schedule
Thurs. Nov. 1 Chadron State (Exh.) Provo, Utah
Fri. Nov. 2 Dixie State (Exh.) Provo, Utah
Fri. Nov. 9 Weber State Provo, Utah
Tues. Nov. 13 Dartmouth Hanover, NH
Thurs. Nov. 15 Boston University Boston, MA
Fri. Nov. 16 Harvard Boston, MA
Tues. Nov. 20 Arizona Tucson, AZ
Sat. Nov. 24 Washington State Pullman, WA
Wed. Nov. 28 Creighton^ Salt Lake City, Utah^
Tues. Dec. 4 Utah State Provo, Utah
Sat. Dec. 8 Utah Salt Lake City, Utah
Sat. Dec. 15 Tulsa Provo, Utah
Tues. Dec. 18 UC Santa Barbara Provo, Utah
Thurs. Dec. 20 Seattle University Provo, Utah
Sat. Jan. 5 San Francisco Provo, Utah
Thurs. Jan. 10 San Diego San Diego, CA
Sat. Jan. 12 Pepperdine Provo, Utah
Thurs. Jan. 17 Gonzaga Spokane, WA
Thurs. Jan. 24 LMU Provo, Utah
Sat. Jan. 26 San Francisco San Francisco, CA
Thurs. Jan. 31 Saint Mary's Provo, Utah
Sat. Feb. 2 Santa Clara Santa Clara, CA
Thurs. Feb. 7 San Diego Provo, Utah
Sat. Feb. 9 Saint Mary's Moraga, CA
Thurs. Feb. 14 Santa Clara Provo, Utah
Sat. Feb. 16 Pepperdine Malibu, CA
Thurs. Feb. 21 Porrtland Provo, Utah
Sat. Feb. 23 Gonzaga Provo, Utah
Thurs. Feb. 28 LMU Los Angeles, CA
Sat. Mar. 2 Porrtland Portland, OR

^ Game played at EnergySolutions Arena