Thorn Repeats As MWC First Team Honoree | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Thorn Repeats As MWC First Team Honoree

LAS VEGAS -- (Mar. 5, 2002) All-American Erin Thorn Leads Four Cougars honored by the Mountain West Conference, Tuesday on the eve of this year's EAS Mountain West Conference Championships.

Thorn, a 5-10 junior guard from Orem, Utah was the lone BYU player named to the First-Team All-Mountain West Conference. This is Thorn's second straight First Team honor.

Junior forward Jennifer Leitner was named to the Second Team All-Mountain West Conference. Teammates Stacy Jensen and Melanie Pearson were named to the Third Team All-Mountain West. Jensen was named to last year's Second Team.

Thorn leads the league in three pointers made this season (3.15 per game). She also ranks second in the conference in scoring at 17.0 points per contest.

The Cougars get set to open MWC championship action on Wednesday with a game against Wyoming in a 2:30 p.m. tip from the Thomas & Mack Center.

2001-02 All-Mountain West Conference - Women's Basketball

First Team All-Mountain West Conference

Linda Frohlich, UNLV

Angie Gorton, CSU

Erin Thorn, BYU

Constance Jinks, UNLV

Lauren Beckman, Utah

Second Team All-Mountain West Conference

Jennifer Leitner, BYU

Jordan Adams, UNM

Lindsay Herbert, Utah

Carrie Bacon, Wyoming

Ashley Augspurger, CSU

Third Team All-Mountain West Conference

Stacy Jensen, BYU

Melanie Pearson, BYU

Mandi Moore, UNM

Claire Swinbank, SDSU

Atim Otii, SDSU

Player of the Year - Linda Frohlich, UNLV

Defensive Player of the Year - Angie Gorton, CSU

Newcomer of the Year -- Mandi Moore, UNM

Coach of the Year -- Tom Colleen, CSU

Eight other conference players received Honorable Mention honors.