WCC releases 2014-15 women’s basketball schedule

(Photo by BYU Photo/Mark Philbrick)

SAN BRUNO, Calif.  — The West Coast Conference today released the 2014-15 women’s basketball schedule with teams opening up league action the last week of December.

“We are excited to compete in the conference race this season and it looks like we’ll start it off with a difficult road game playing at Gonzaga, a team that will likely be the league favorite,” BYU head coach Jeff Judkins said. 

“Hopefully we will be in the hunt for a conference title when they come to Provo for our final WCC game. It looks like we will have a tough stretch in the middle of the season too when we play three straight road games at Saint Mary’s, at Pacific and at San Diego,” Judkins added.

BYU opens the 2014-15 campaign on the road at Gonzaga and at Portland on Dec. 27 and 29, respectively. The Bulldogs and Pilots will be under new head coaches this coming season. Lisa Fortier, an assistant for Gonzaga the past seven years, was named their head coach earlier this year. Portland named assistant Cheryl Sorenson to head its women’s basketball program. Gonzaga and BYU competed in the NCAA tournament last year with the Cougars advancing to the Sweet 16, while the Bulldogs played in the first round.

The first WCC games to be played in the Marriott Center start on New Year’s Day, when BYU hosts Santa Clara on Thursday, Jan. 1. On Saturday, Jan. 3, BYU will battle San Francisco.

A trip to southern California to play at LMU on Jan. 8 and at Pepperdine on Jan. 10 follows for the Cougar women’s team.

They return to their home court the following week, hosting Pacific and Saint Mary’s on Jan. 15 and 17, respectively. Both conference foes competed in last year’s postseason WNIT. The Tigers played in the first round while the Gaels advanced to the second round.

One game is on the slate for the Cougars the following week when they host San Diego on Saturday, Jan. 24. The Toreros advanced to the quarterfinals of the postseason WNIT last year.

The month of January ends on the road for BYU when it battles San Francisco on Jan. 29 and Santa Clara on Jan. 31.

League foes Pepperdine and LMU come to the Marriott Center the first week of February. The Waves are in Provo on Thursday, Feb. 5, with the Lions making an appearance on Saturday, Feb. 7.

Three straight road conference games follow for BYU as they play at Saint Mary’s on Feb. 12 and at Pacific on Valentine’s Day, Feb. 14. On Saturday, Feb. 21 the Cougars are at San Diego.

The final week of WCC action brings Portland and Gonzaga to the Marriott Center. The Cougars host the Pilots on Thursday, Feb. 26 and the Bulldogs on Saturday, Feb. 28.

BYU then travels to Las Vegas to compete in the WCC Championships from the Orleans Arena, March 5-10.

The Cougars open up the 2014-15 season on the road at South Dakota State on Nov. 14. The team’s home opener is on Nov. 19 vs. Cal State Northridge.

As a precursor to the season, BYU will play two exhibition games on Nov. 1 vs. Westminster and Fort Lewis College on Nov. 8.

BYU's 2014-15 WCC Schedule
Date Opponent
Dec. 27 (Saturday) at Gonzaga
Dec. 29 (Monday) at Portland
Jan. 1 (Thursday) Santa Clara
Jan. 3 (Saturday) San Francisco
Jan. 8 (Thursday) at Loyola Marymount
Jan. 10 (Saturday) at Pepperdine
Jan. 15 (Thursday) Pacific
Jan. 17 (Saturday) Saint Mary's
Jan. 24 (Saturday) San Diego
Jan. 29 (Thursday) at San Francisco
Jan. 31 (Saturday) at Santa Clara
Feb. 5 (Thursday) Pepperdine
Feb. 7 (Saturday) Loyola Marymount
Feb. 12 (Thursday) at Saint Mary's
Feb. 14 (Saturday) at Pacific
Feb. 19 (Thursday) at San Diego
Feb. 26 (Thursday) Portland
Feb. 28 (Saturday) Gonzaga