Cougars to compete at NCAA West Regional | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Cougars to compete at NCAA West Regional

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - BYU, Colorado State and San Diego State will join Mountain West Conference champion New Mexico at the 2001 NCAA Women's Golf Championships Regionals. The Cougars and the Lobos are each making their second straight NCAA appearance after representing the MWC in the 2000 NCAA Women's Golf West Regional. The Rams are making their first NCAA appearance in school history.

Three 21-team NCAA Regional Tournaments will be conducted May 10-12 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of the NCAA championships competition.

New Mexico is a No. 8 seed and SDSU is a No. 14 seed in the East Regional at Finley Golf Course in Chapel Hill, N.C. Colorado State, a No. 15 seed, and BYU, a No. 18 seed, will compete in the West Regional at Trysting Golf Course in Corvallis, Ore.

The Finley Golf Course and the Trysting Tree Golf Course are par 72 courses. Eighteen holes will be played each of the three days with the top-four scores counting toward the overall team total.

A total of 321 participants have been selected for regional competition, and 126 of those players will advance to the finals May 22-25 at the Mission Inn Golf and Tennis Resort at Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.


Trysting Tree Golf Course,

Corvallis, Ore.


1. Arizona

2. Southern California

3. Stanford

4. Tennessee

5. Ohio State

6. Arizona State


8. Michigan State

9. Washington

10. Furman

11. Indiana

12. Oregon

13. Memphis

14. Missouri

15. Colorado State

16. Nevada

17. Oregon State

18. Brigham Young

19. Central Connecticut State

20. Southwest Missouri State

21. Weber State


Finley Golf Course, Chapel Hill, NC


1. Duke

2. Auburn

3. Georgia

4. TCU

5. Pepperdine

6. Vanderbilt

7. Wake Forest

8. New Mexico

9. South Florida

10. Northwestern

11. San Jose State

12. South Carolina

13. Michigan

14. San Diego State

15. Florida State

16. North Carolina

17. Louisville

18. Campbell

19. Kansas State

20. Jackson State

21. Charleston Southern


Birck Boilermaker Golf

Complex, West Lafayette, Ind.


1. Texas

2. Tulsa

3. Oklahoma State

4. New Mexico State

5. LSU

6. Oklahoma

7. Purdue

8. Alabama

9. Kent State

10. California

11. UCF

12. Baylor

13. San Francisco

14. Florida

15. Nebraska

16. Texas A&M

17. Texas Tech

18. Minnesota

19. Idaho

20. Oral Roberts

21. Princeton