Cramer One Of 13 Nominated For Hermann Trophy | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Cramer One Of 13 Nominated For Hermann Trophy

Charlotte, N. C. (August 17, 2001) -- All-American Aleisha Cramer is one of 13 college women's soccer players nominated for the 2001 Hermann Trophy, college soccer's oldest and most prestigious player of the year award.

Cramer, a sophomore from Lakewood, Colorado joins an elite group of collegiate players. The other 12 candidates are Santa Clara's Danielle Slaton and Aly Wagner, Penn State's Christie Welsh, Florida's Abby Warmbach, UCLA's Mary Frances Monroe and Stephanie Rigamat, Portland's Lauren Orlandos, North Carolina's Danielle Borgman and Kean Kluegel, Washington's Hope Solo and Texas A&M's Nicky Thrasher. Cramer is the lone sophomore player nominated.

The 5-10 midfielder started in 23 of 24 games her freshman season for Brigham Young University, contributing seven goals and 13 assists for her 27 points to finish in fourth place on the Cougars' explosive offensive front. Her many honors in 2000 included being named the Mountain West Conference Freshman of the Year, the All-MWC, and the All-West Region first teams and was on ESPN/Soccer Times All-American Second Team as well as Freshman of the Year. In March of 2001, Cramer captained the U.S. women's national team in the Algarve Cup in Portugal. This spring she was one of three college players to play on the U.S. Women's U-21 National Team who won the Nordic Cup for the third straight time. In the final game against Sweden, Cramer scored two goals and two assists to help the team to a 6-1 victory over Sweden for the title cup. Cramer has also been nominated on several Pre-Season All-America teams for the 2001 season.

The Hermann Trophy, soccer's equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, has been given annually since 1967 to the nation's best male college soccer player. The women's award has been presented each year since 1988. The Hermann Trophy is named for Robert R. Hermann, the former Chairman of the Executive

Committee of the old North American Soccer League and one of that ground-breaking league's founders.

The candidates were chosen by a ballot of Division I college coaches and selected media. In a twist added to the selection process this year, two spots on the final ballot will remain open until Oct. 1. At that time, a poll of coaches and media will be conducted to add the final two names to each of the

15-player ballots before the final voting is conducted. This is to ensure that any player having a stellar season will be eligible to win the prestigious player of the year award.

Final ballots will be distributed to all Division I college coaches, tabulated, and three men and three women finalists will be announced on Dec. 1. The winners of the 2001 Hermann Trophy will be announced at the College Cups, the women on Dec. 8 in Dallas, Texas, and the men on Dec. 15 in Columbus, Ohio. will be the presenting sponsor of the Hermann Trophy for the next three years.