Team Picked To Win 4th Consecutive MWC Title | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Team Picked To Win 4th Consecutive MWC Title

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. --- BYU was selected as the favorite to capture its fourth straight Mountain West Conference title in a vote by the league's coaches released Friday.

The Cougars collected a total of 36 points (six first-place votes) to capture the top position in the poll. Utah, which collected the other first-place vote (28 total), was picked to finish second in the ballot, followed by UNLV (22), San Diego State (21) and New Mexico (20). Air Force (14) and Wyoming (6) rounded out the voting as they were picked to finish sixth and seventh, respectively.

BYU, 14-7-1 overall last year, won the 2001 regular-season title with a 5-1 record and captured the conference tournament crown with a 2-1 victory over UNLV. The Cougars advanced to the second round of NCAA Tournament play before falling to Nebraska, 3-0. BYU returns 11 letterwinners and five starters from last year's team and will be led by two-time junior All-American and MWC Player of the Year Aleisha Cramer-Rose.

The BYU women's soccer team opens the 2002 season at home on Aug. 30 hosting Portland, a team that was in last year's NCAA Final Four Women's College Cup. Kick off is set for 7 p.m., at South Field.

Preseason Women's Soccer Coaches' Poll

Pl. Team (1st place votes) Points

1. BYU (6) 36

2. Utah (1) 28

3. UNLV 22

4. San Diego State 21

5. New Mexico 20

6. Air Force 14

7. Wyoming 6