BYU Softball is off to Sunny San Diego

PROVO, Utah - The BYU women's softball team (10-6) is off to compete in the San Diego Classic in San Diego, Calif. on March 18-20.

Three of the five teams BYU will play at the tournament will mark the team's first meeting in softball history. The Cougars will face UC Riverside for the second time this season. Previously, BYU won 7-0 in Santa Barbara.

The Cougars will face San Diego (9-15), Dartmouth (0-0, season opener), Central Connecticut State (1-4), UC Riverside (7-20) and Indiana (11-11).

The Cougars are coming off the New Mexico State Invitational where they defeated Marist 9-1, Drake 12-1 and UTEP 6-4. With the three wins, BYU improved its record to 10-6 overall and is on a four-game winning streak.

Two games scheduled in the tournament against St. Peter's and New Mexico State were canceled due to rain.

The team hit a combined seven home runs, two doubles, two triples and stole seven bases. Nine players also hit .300 or better on the weekend. Each pitcher-- Brooke Boyce (3-3), Niki Andersen (5-2) and Ariel Capra (2-1) each recorded a win a piece on the weekend.

"We played well," BYU head coach Gordon Eakin said. "Things started coming together and it was nice to play again."

Junior catcher Lauren Watson was named to the NMSU Invitational All-Tournament Team and the Tournament MVP. She batted 6-9 (.666), scored five runs, two RBI, one home run, one triple, two stolen bases and had eight putouts on the weekend.

Crystal Young also added a solid performance for the Cougars this weekend with perfect 4-4 hitting on the weekend. She scored two runs, three RBI and captured her first home run of her BYU career.

BYU Schedule at the San Diego Classic 

March 18 San Diego 5 p.m. PT, 6 p.m. MT

March 19 Dartmouth 1 p.m. PT, 2 p.m. MT

Central Conn. St. 3 p.m. PT, 4 p.m. MT

March 20 UC Riverside 9 a.m. PT, 10 a.m. MT

Indiana 1 p.m. PT, 2 p.m. MT

BYU All-Time Records vs. Opponents

San Diego: 4-2

Dartmouth: marks the first match up

Central Connecticut State: marks the first match up

UC Riverside: 1-0 (won 7-0 on Feb. 20 of this year in Santa Barbara)

Indiana: marks the first match up

AttachmentSize
BYU-Softball-is-off-to-Sunny-San-Diego.pdf288.46 KB