Conference Championships | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Conference Championships



In just its second season as a program, BYU won its first Mountain West Conference regular title while also winning the MWC Tournament. The Cougars posted an 11-6 record to beat out second place Utah. In the tournament BYU proved clutch, winning 1-run games against New Mexico, Utah and San Diego State to sweep both conference titles and qualify for the NCAA tournament for the first time.


BYU again took both the regular season and postseason conference tournament, cruising through the MWC with a 16-2 record before going 3-0 in the tourney. It was the first conference championships for BYU under head coach Gordon Eakin.


The Cougars were the clear champions of the MWC after going 16-4 and finishing four games ahead of second place UNLV. For the first time no conference tournament was held, giving BYU the automatic NCAA berth. After losing two early games to the Rebels, BYU ran off 10-straight conference wins, then later beat UNLV by a combined score of 16-7 in two games in Provo to wrap up the championship.


With a 12-2 record, BYU beat out San Diego State by 2.5 games for the conference title after missing out the season before by just a single game to the Aztecs. The Cougars beat their conference foes by an average of 7.2 - 2.1 runs per game to begin a run of MWC titles.


On the final day of conference play BYU defeated Utah, 7-2, to finish the conference season at 12-3 and edge out San Diego State again for the championship. Led by the national RBI per game and home run per game leader Angie Quiocho, the Cougars would go on to advance to their first-ever NCAA Super Regional and post a program-best 46-13 record.


In its final season in the MWC, BYU went 11-2 for its third-straight championship, clinching the title with another win over Utah in the penultimate game of the regular season. It was the first time an MWC team won three championships in a row and helped head coach Gordon Eakin to his third-straight Coach of the Year award.


Playing its only season in the Western Athletic Conference (WAC), BYU won its last seven regular season conference games to earn the 2-seed in the WAC Tournament. The Cougars swept through the tourney in three games, defeating Louisiana Tech, No. 11 Hawaii and Fresno State to become WAC Tournament Champions. Senior Stacie Toney was named Tournament MVP, joining Delaney Willard and Tori Almond on the All-Tournament Team.


In its first and only year in the Pacific Coast Softball Conference, the BYU softball team grabbed its fourth-straight conference championship.  The Cougars claimed the regular season championship with sweeps of three of the six conference teams on its way to a 19-5 record in the PCSC. Senior JC Clayton earned Co-Player of the Year honors with Gordy Bravo being named Freshman of the Year and Coach Gordon Eakin named PCSC Coach of the Year. 


BYU softball grabbed its sixth consecutive championship in the inaugural season of the sport in the West Coast Conference. The Cougars also became the only team to win four conference championships from four different conferences in four consecutive years. BYU never lost a series in conference play and swept three of five series on its way to a 12-2 conference record. Freshman Sydney Broderick was named WCC Co-Freshman of the Year and Gordon Eakin was named Coach of the Year. The Cougars placed a conference-high seven players on the All-WCC teams, including five on the first team.


The Cougars clinched its second WCC title in a row and seventh consecutive conference championship. BYU swept four of its five conference series, clinching outright with one weekend to go in conference play en route to a 13-2 record. Oufielder Gordy Bravo was named WCC Player of the Year and McKenna Bull was named Pitcher of the Year while Gordon Eakin was voted Coach of the Year for the second year in a row in the WCC and third year in a row overall. Like in 2014, the Cougars placed seven players on the All-WCC teams, including five on the first team.


For the third year in a row, BYU softball won the WCC title with a 12-3 record, its eighth straight conference championship. The Cougars clinched the title in a 12-inning thriller at San Diego, winning the game with an RBI from Gordy Bravo. BYU swept three of the five conference series, including one on the road. First baseman Ashley Thompson was named WCC Player of the Year, McKenna Bull won the WCC Pitcher of the Year title for the second-straight year, Lauren Bell was awarded WCC Defensive Player of the Year, and Gordon Eakin was voted WCC Co-Coach of the Year. Eakin has been voted WCC Coach of the Year in all three seasons in the conference. Five players were named to the All-WCC First Team, with one more on the All-WCC Second Team.


BYU won its fourth-straight WCC title in 2017, ninth-straight over four different conferences. The Cougars had a 14-1 conference mark, the best in program history. The championship was clinched in Santa Clara after sweeping a doubleheader. BYU swept all but Saint Mary's this year, including a run-rule sweep of San Diego in Provo. For the WCC awards, the Cougars took every major award: Caitlyn Larsen Alldredge as WCC Player of the Year, McKenna Bull as WCC Pitcher of the Year (third in a row), Lauren Bell as WCC Defensive Player of the Year (second in a row), Rylee Jensen as WCC Co-Freshman of the Year and Gordon Eakin as WCC Coach of the Year (fifth in a row). Nine players were also named to All-WCC teams, including four on the first team, three on the second team and two honorable mentions.