Cougars Selected to All-Conference and All-Tournament Teams | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Cougars Selected to All-Conference and All-Tournament Teams

PROVO -- The All-Mountain West Conference Softball awards as selected by the league's six head coaches were announced this weekend in conjunction with the MWC Tournament being held in Provo, Utah, at Gail Miller Field. Three Cougar's were selected to the All-Conference Team while two more made the All-Tournament team.

BYU seniors Liz VanderLinden and Kari Pringle were selected to the team along with last year's MWC Freshman of the Year Oli Keohohou. VanderLinden hit .286 on the season and was tied for first in triples with four. She had 46 hits with 19 RBI and a .968 fielding percentage. Pringle went .261 on the season with 37 hits, eight doubles and a .942 fielding percentage. Keohohou led the conference in several categories in batting average (.433), runs (53), home runs (18), RBI (43), and slugging percentage (.933).

The 20-member all-conference team includes seven players from San Diego State, four players from New Mexico and Utah, three players from BYU and two from UNLV.

VanderLinden was also selected to the All-Conference team announced immediately after Utah won the conference tournament. In her final weekend of softball play, she went 6-10 in the three games with a triple and scored three runs. Brooke Cadiente, the 2001 MWC Tournament MVP, went 3-8 and nailed a grand slam off MWC Pitcher of the Year Bre DeSanta in last night's loss to the No. 1 seed.

2002 All-Mountain West Conference Softball Team

Name Team Ht. Yr. Pos. Hometown (Previous School)

Michelle Carter UNM 5-8 Sr. C/3B Albuquerque, N.M. (Highlands College)

Brooke Chaffee UNM 5-2 Sr. 2B Topeka, Kan. (Washburn Rural HS)

Cassie Chavez UNM 5-5 Fr. SS/3B Carlsbad, N.M. (Carlsbad HS)

Bre DeSanta SDSU 5-7 Fr. P Scottsdale, Ariz. (Horizon HS)

Joann Figueroa SDSU 5-8 So. SS Phoenix, Ariz. (Moon Valley HS)

*Kelly Glass UNM 5-6 Jr. OF Las Vegas, Nev. (Bonanza HS)

Pauline Glenn UNLV 5-4 Fr. 3B Tucson, Ariz. (Sahuaro HS)

Tiffany Goudy SDSU 5-6 Sr. OF Paso Robles, Calif. (Colorado State)

*Niki Hayhurst Utah 5-11 Jr. 1B Keizer, Ore. (McNary HS)

*Sarah Hershman SDSU 5-5 Sr. 2B San Diego, Calif. (Mt. Carmel HS)

*#Oli Keohohou BYU 5-5 So. OF Newbury Park, Calif. (Newbury Park HS)

Janna Kovensky SDSU 5-10 So. OF San Diego, Calif. (Rancho Bernardo HS)

*Molly McLean Utah 5-8 Sr. OF Riverton, Utah (Bingham HS)

Kelcy Murphy SDSU 5-9 So. 3B/1B San Diego, Calif. (Rancho Bernardo HS)

*Kellie Nordhagen SDSU 5-6 Sr. OF Valencia, Calif. (Hart HS)

Geney Orris UNLV 5-8 Sr. P/DP Brea, Calif. (Brea Olinda HS)

Kari Pringle BYU 5-7 Sr. 2B West Valley, Utah (Ricks College)

*Melissa Stahnke Utah 5-8 So. SS Ridgefield, Wash. (Ridgefield HS)

*Lyndsey Trevis Utah 5-10 Sr. 3B Glendora, Calif. (Glendora HS)

Liz Vanderlindon BYU 5-1 Sr. OF Draper, Utah (Ricks College)

Player of the Year -- Geney Orris, UNLV

Pitcher of the Year -- Bre DeSanta, San Diego State

Freshman of the Year -- Bre DeSanta, San Diego State

Coach of the Year -- Kathy Van Wyk

*2001 All-MWC Selection

$2001 Player of the Year

#2001 Freshman of the Year