Cougars off to the Softball by the Beach Invitational Feb. 19-21

PROVO, Utah - The BYU women's softball team (2-3) is off to compete in the Softball by the Beach Invitational on Feb. 19-21 in Santa Barbara, Calif.

The Cougars are coming off the tough Hawai`i Paradise Classic season opening tournament, and the competition in Santa Barbara doesn't get any easier.

BYU will face host school UC Santa Barbara (10-6), UC Riverside (1-8), Loyola Marymount (6-2), Florida International (2-7) and Central Florida (7-3). The Cougars will look to continue their two-game winning streak on the road.

"We're a young team and are continuing to make progress," BYU head coach Gordon Eakin said. "Our expectations are high for this tournament, but we're going to remain cautiously optimistic."

BYU All-Time Records vs. Opponents

UC Santa Barbara: 2-1

UC Riverside: marks the first match up

Loyola Marymount: 1-1

Florida International: 0-1

Central Florida: marks the first match up

BYU Schedule at the Beach Invitational

Feb. 19 UC Santa Barbara 2 p.m.(PT) 3 p.m.(MT)

Feb. 20 UC Riverside 11:30 a.m.(PT) 12:30 p.m.(MT)

Loyola Marymount 2 p.m.(PT) 3 p.m.(MT)

Feb. 21 Florida International 4:30 p.m.(PT) 5:30 p.m.(MT)

Central Florida 7 p.m.(PT) 8 p.m.(MT)

**Due to the tournament being off-site, stats will be available at 9:30 (PT), 10:30 (MT) after each day of play.

AttachmentSize
Cougars-off-to-the-Softball-by-the-Beach-Invitational-Feb.-19-21.pdf357.61 KB