Keohohou Named to USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Keohohou Named to USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch

Two-time First-team All-American Oli Keohohou was named to the USA Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List for the second consecutive year.

PROVO -- Two-time First Team All-American Oli Keohohou was named to the Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, initial watch list for the 2nd annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award.

This award, which is considered the Heisman Trophy in women's collegiate softball and is the only national player of the year award, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Last season, Keohohou made the cut to the final 25 finalists after being named as a top four finalist for the Honda Sports Award during her freshman campaign in 2001.

The initial watch list is comprised of 40 players that represent 23 colleges and 11 different collegiate Conferences. Even if a player doesn't appear on the initial watch list, they are still eligible for the award.

The first 25 finalist will be announced on April 8th. The list will then be reduced to ten players on April 29th, with three finalists being named on May 13th. The winner of the 2003 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced at the 2003 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City. The winner will also be recognized during the ASA National Council Meeting in Orlando, FL, in November.

For more information go to

Players name to Watch for Player of the Year Award 

Nicole Barber, University of Georgia

Lauren Bay, Oklahoma State University

Tia Bollinger University of Washington

Liz Bouck, DePaul University

Kelli Braitsch, University of Oklahoma

Kara Brun, Arizona State University

Lindsay Chouinard, DePaul University

Megan Ciolli, University of Notre Dame

Jamie Clark, University of Washington

Selena Collins, Texas A&M University

Ashley Courtney, University of Alabama

Jodie Cox, Cal State Fullerton

Christina Enea, University of Oklahoma

Lindsay Gardner, University of Texas

Keira Goerl, UCLA

Alicia Hollowell, University of Arizona

Peaches James, University of Nebraska

Lovieanne Jung, University of Arizona

Oli Keohohou, Brigham Young University

Tara Knudsen, Georgia Tech University

Andrea Loman, University of Notre Dame

Jackie McClain, University of Alabama

Becky McMurtry, University of Louisiana-Lafayette

Tairia Mims, UCLA

Veronica Nelson, University of California-Berkeley

Tori Nyberg, Stanford University

Gina Oaks, Cal State Fullerton

Kim Ogee, University of Nebraska

Cat Osterman, University of Texas

Kristen Rivera, University of Washington

Courtney Scott, University of California-Berkeley

Jaime Southern, Fresno State University

Brandi Stuart, Florida State University

Jenny Topping, Cal State Fullerton

Mackenzie Vandergeest, Arizona

Lisa Wangler, Nebraska

Natasha Watley, UCLA

Kim Wendland, University of Georgia

Phelan Wright, Arizona State University

Marissa Young, University of Michigan