Men's and Women's Swimming Teams Earn Academic Awards | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Men's and Women's Swimming Teams Earn Academic Awards

Brett Allen (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- Several members of BYU's men's and women's swimming teams were named 2005 Scholar Athletes by the Student Athlete Academic Center. The men's team was represented by 15 Scholar Athletes while the women's team placed 16 athletes on the list.

Brett Allen and Jorge Azevedo were two of the men's swimmers who excelled both in the classroom and in the pool. Allen was named first-team All-Mountain West Conference after breaking the league record in the 50-yard freestyle. Azevedo set a new BYU record in the 100 butterfly at the Speedo Cup Invitational held in November with a time of 47.70.

Men's relay teams who were recognized with first-team All-MWC honors as well as 2005 Scholar Athlete honors included the 200 medley relay (Mark Chay, Nicholas Tobler, Azevedo, Allen) and the 400 medley relay (John Ferrell, Tobler, Azevedo, Allen).

Travis Price, Tobler, Azevedo, Chay, Ferrell, Song Zhen Goh and Allen also qualified for Academic All-America awards, achieving NCAA consideration cuts while posting a 3.6 GPA or better.

For the women's team, scholar athlete Brittany Davis won her third consecutive 500 freestyle crown at the MWC Championships in an NCAA provisional time of 4:51.34 and also won the 100 and 200 backstrokes to become the highest individual scorer at the meet from any team.

Women's scholar athletes who were also named first-team All-MWC include U-Nice Chan, Brittany Davis and Whitney Hall.

SAAC Scholar Athletes were required to earn a GPA of 3.2 or higher within the 2005 calendar year while contributing significantly to his/her team. In all, 292 Cougar athletes were recognized.

Men's 2005 Scholar Athletes

Brett Allen

Jorge Azevedo

Mark Chay

David Fellingham

John Ferrell

Song Zhen Goh

Grant Hasselback

Christian Keil

David Larson

Benjamin Mckee

Chris Patience

Travis Price

Jeffrey Su

Nicholas Tobler

Diogo Yabe

Women's 2005 Scholar Athletes

Kiersten Braithwaite

U-Nice Chan

Kimberly Clark

Brittany Davis

Elizabeth Duffin

Amy Garrick

Whitney Hall

Kimberly Holcombe

Natasha Jones

Whitney Jones

Becky Larsen

Elise Livengood

Julie Nelson

Carly Smith

Dominique Walsh

Sarah Woodbury