Surkova Receives ITA Regional Award | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Surkova Receives ITA Regional Award

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

SKILLMAN -- BYU's Anastasia Surkova was honored by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association on Wednesday as the Central Region's Senior Player of the Year.

The Russian native compiled a 15-9 singles record this season, spending the majority of her time at the No. 1 position on the team, earning a No. 62 national ranking. During the spring season, Surkova upset several ranked opponents, including No. 23 Gira Schofield of South Carolina and No. 31 Elena Gantcheva of UNLV. She also posted a 6-1 record in conference matches. Over her career at BYU Surkova has earned a 91-29 overall singles record with a .758 winning percentage.

In doubles play, Surkova teamed up with fellow senior Jennifer Miccoli for a 15-9 record at the top position. Together the No. 57 duo defeated top 40-ranked opponents from Arkansas, Boise State and South Carolina.

Surkova received two Mountain West Conference Player of the Week awards this season, marking the fifth and sixth of her career. She was also awarded All-MWC honors in both singles and doubles to close out the season.

Several other members of the MWC were recognized by their respective regions, including coaches Alan Dils and Loren Dils from New Mexico, Ruthann Allen of Utah and TCU's Colin Foster. Ester Cadua of SDSU received the Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship, while TCU's Nina Munch-Soegaard was honored as the Southwest Region's Player to Watch.

All regional award winners are nominees for the ITA national awards. Those will be announced May 20 at the ITA awards banquet in Tulsa.

ITA Regional Awards Winners from the Mountain West Conference


Men's Coach of the Year

Alan Dils, New Mexico (Mountain Region)

Men's Assistant Coach of the Year

Loren Dils, New Mexico (Mountain Region)

Women's Assistant Coach of the Year

Ruthann Allen, Utah (Central Region)

Colin Foster, TCU (Southwest Region)

Women's Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship

Esther Cadua, San Diego State University (West Region)

Women's Senior Player of the Year

Anastasia Surkova, BYU (Central Region)

Women's Player to Watch

Nina Munch-Soegaard, TCU (Southwest Region)