BYU Track & Field FAQ | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

BYU Track & Field FAQ

How has BYU fared in the Mountain West Conference since 1999?

The women have won 27 of 29 outdoor conference championships and 18 of 21 indoor conference championships since the program began in 1982. In the MWC (1999-2011), the women claimed 11 of 13 outdoor titles and 10 of 12 indoor titles. 

The men have won 11 of 12 indoor titles since joining the MWC in 1999 and won 13 consecutive outdoor titles before leaving the conference in 2011. 

How has BYU fared nationally?

The BYU women have finished in the top 20 nationally 14 times during indoor season and 19 times during outdoor season since joining the NCAA in 1982. The team finished a program best third during outdoor season in 1998 and third during the indoor season in 2009. Since joining the NCAA, the women's program has earned 194 All-American honors. 

The men had a program-defining year in 2011, with a third place place indoor finish and an eighth place finish during the outdoor season. 10 athletes earned 17 All-American honors during 2011, giving the Cougars 256 All-American honors since 1962. The men have also posted 18 top 20 NCAA indoor finishes and 32 top 20 NCAA outdoor finishes since 1965. 

How can I buy a media guide?

Media guides are available online at 

How can I buy tickets?

Generally there is not a charge for regular-season events.

How do I get to the meet, and where can I park?

Track meets are held at the BYU Track and Field Complex, located on the corner of University Parkway and Canyon Road in Provo (just south of Edwards Stadium). Parking is available in the stadium parking lots.

For more information and directions to the venue, visit and click on "Venues" on the left menu.

How long has the program existed at BYU?

The women entered NCAA competition in 1982, but have been competing since before 1973. The men's track and field program started at Brigham Young Academy in 1899; they entered NCAA competition in the 1918-19 season, when they placed third in the western division of the Rocky Mountain Conference.