Hartsock Selected All-West Region Honorable Mention | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Hartsock Selected All-West Region Honorable Mention

Redshirt freshman middle blocker Lindsy Hartsock was named an honorable mention All-West Region selection by the American Volleyball Coaches Association on Wednesday. (Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- BYU redshirt freshman middle blocker Lindsy Hartsock was selected by the American Volleyball Coaches Association as an honorable mention selection to the 2003 All-West Region team today.

The 2003 Mountain West Conference Freshman of the Year, Hartsock was the only freshman in the MWC to rank in the top 10 of any statistical category. She ranked in three categories, including, fourth in hitting percentage (.350), tied for fourth in blocks per game (1.21) and tied for sixth in service aces per game (0.37).

This season, Hartsock set single-match career highs with 14 kills, 11 blocks, five aces and a .846 attack percentage.

A native of Inkom, Idaho, the 6-foot-4 Hartsock was the only freshman to see action for the Cougars this season and she was second on the team in hitting percentage and aces per game, and ranked third in blocks per game. She is the first BYU player to see receive all-region recognition since 2001, when former Cougar Nina Puikkonen was named to the All-West Region team.

One 12-person team and six honorable mention players are selected per region by participating member head coaches in the region. The West Region is comprised of the Mountain West, Big West and Western Athletic conferences, which are made up of the following schools: UC Irvine, UC Riverside, Cal Poly, UC Santa Barbara, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Northridge, Idaho, Long Beach State, Pacific (Calif.), Utah State, Air Force, Brigham Young, Colorado State, UNLV, New Mexico, San Diego State, Utah, Wyoming, Boise State, Fresno State, Hawai`i, Louisiana Tech, Nevada-Reno, Rice, San Jose State, Southern Methodist, Texas-El Paso and Tulsa.

West Region

Erin Cartwright-Davis Utah State University MB Sr.

Melissa Courtney Colorado State University S Jr.

Kristen Fenton ** Fresno State OH Jr.

Jennifer Fopma ** Cal State Northridge MB Sr.

Anna Marie Hammond University of Idaho MB Sr.

Jennifer Joines **** University of the Pacific MB Sr.

Lily Kahumoku *** University of Hawai'i OH Sr.

Kanoe Kamana'o University of Hawai'i S Fr.

Katie Jo Shirley Colorado State University MB Jr.

Kim Turner *** University of Utah MB Sr.

Kim Willoughby *** University of Hawai'i OH Sr.

Kelly Wing University of California, Irvine OH Jr.

Region Freshman of the Year: Kanoe Kamana'o, Hawai'i, OH

Honorable Mention: Hayley Anderson (Pacific, S, Jr.), Megan Blackshire (UC Santa Barbara, MB, So.),
Erika Chidester (Long Beach State, OH, Jr.), Lauren Duggins (University of Hawai'i, MB, Sr.),
Lindsy Hartsock (Brigham Young, MB, Fr.), Jackie Morrill (Utah, DS/Lib, Sr.)