Walker Named to All-MWC Team | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Walker Named to All-MWC Team

(Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

COLORADO SPRINGS -- The Mountain West All-Conference Volleyball awards as selected by the league's nine head coaches were announced today. Colorado State junior Danielle Minch was named Player of the Year, while Wyoming’s Jodi Purdy was voted Freshman of the Year, and Tom Hilbert of Colorado State was selected Coach of the Year.

Minch, a native of Sterling, Colo., earned her first player of the year honor after leading Colorado State to its sixth outright regular-season championship. Minch finished the regular season leading the league in kills per set in Conference matches (3.80). She also ranks second in the MWC in kills (3.77) and points per set (4.16) in overall matches, and finished Conference play ranking third in points per set (4.16). Minch has tallied double-digit kills in 19 matches this season and was honored as the MWC Player of the Week on November 16.

Purdy, an outside hitter from Winterset, Iowa, earned MWC Freshman of the Year accolades after completing the season ranked third in kills per set (3.43) and fourth in points per set (3.90) in overall matches. She also finished ninth in service aces per set in all matches (0.24). In league play, Purdy ranked fourth in kills per set (3.32) and fourth in points per set (3.71). She also ranked in the top-15 in digs per set in overall and Conference matches (2.53 and 2.63, respectively). Purdy is the top-rated MWC freshman in kills and points per set in both overall and league matches. She also tallied double-figure kills in 23 of 31 matches played this season and averaged 0.42 blocks per set.

Hilbert was named MWC Coach of the Year for the seventh time in his career. He led the 23rd-ranked Rams to their sixth outright and seventh overall MWC regular-season title with a 15-1 Conference record. Hilbert also guided Colorado State to its 11th 20-win season as members of the MWC.

BYU’s Kayla Walker, Colorado State’s Tessa Nelson, New Mexico’s Jade Michaelsen, San Diego State’s Lauren Salisbury, TCU’s Christy Hudson, and Utah’s Karolina Bartkowiak were repeat selections from last year. Colorado State’s Katelin Batten, Danielle Minch, Megan Plourde and Evan Sanders were joined on the squad by New Mexico’s Taylor Hadfield and Rose Morris, TCU’s Katelyn Blackwood, Kourtney Edwards and Megan Munce, UNLV’s Cursty Jackson, and Utah’s Chelsey Sandberg as first-time honorees.


Name School Class Position Hometown

Kayla Walker! BYU Sr. OH Kaysville, Utah

Danielle Minch CSU Jr. OH Sterling, Colo.

Tessa Nelson! CSU Sr. MB Balaton, Minn.

Megan Plourde CSU RS-Fr. MB Somerset, Wis.

Evan Sanders CSU So. S Lafayette, Colo.

Taylor Hadfield UNM Jr. MB Corte Madera, Calif.

Jade Michaelsen! UNM Jr. S Tucson, Ariz.

Rose Morris UNM Sr. OH Albuquerque, N.M.

Lauren Salisbury! SDSU Jr. MB Southlake, Texas

Katelyn Blackwood TCU Sr. L Houston, Texas

Kourtney Edwards TCU Sr. MB Haltom City, Texas

Christy Hudson! TCU Jr. RS Yorba Linda, Calif.

Cursty Jackson UNLV So. MB Los Angeles, Calif.

Karolina Bartkowiak! Utah Jr. OPP Aurora, Ill.

Chelsey Sandberg Utah Sr. MB West Jordan, Utah

Setter – Megan Munce TCU So. S Costa Mesa, Calif.

Libero – Katelin Batten, Colorado State Sr. Parker, Colo.

Player of the Year - Danielle Minch, Colorado State

Freshman of the Year - Jodi Purdy, Wyoming

Coach of the Year - Tom Hilbert, Colorado State

!Notes repeat selections.