Brigham Young University
Dec 04 | 09:00 AM
0 -
Lee & Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center

1900 Red River St. Austin TX 78712

zbrady | Posted: 6 Dec 2014 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cougars wrap up day 3 of Texas Invite


Texas Invite Day 1 Recap

Texas Invite Day 2 Recap

Texas Invite Day 3

Texas Invite Day 3 Results

AUSTIN, Texas – Co-captains Jake Taylor and Hayden Palmer combined to break three school records for BYU as the Texas Invite wrapped up in Austin, Texas, Saturday.

“We had an amazing meet, it was one of the best we’ve had in many years,” head coach John Brooks said. “Jake (Taylor) and Hayden (Palmer) breaking the records is awesome. Almost everyone that came here had lifetime-best times in at least one event and a lot of season-best times.”

Taylor set new BYU records in the 100-yard backstroke (45.95) and 200 back (1:40.51) while Palmer added a school record in the 200-yard butterfly touching the wall in 1:45.91.

True freshman Luis Ventura finished 13th in the men’s 1,650-yard freestyle coming in with a time of 15:30.34

Haley Bertoldo earned a top-15 finish when she came in at 15th in the women’s 200 back finishing in 2:00.27.

Rafael Alfaro finished 13th in the men’s 200 back touching the wall at 1:59.09.

The BYU women’s 400-yard freestyle relay team finished 14th. The team, made up of Lauren Shaw Taylor, Brenna Dickson, Emily Harris and Andrea Grant Richards, finished the relay in 3:26.94.

McKay King, Alfaro, Palmer and Taylor finished ninth in the 400 free relay, touching the wall in 3:00.11.

The Cougars head to San Diego for training camp Dec. 28-Jan 3. They don’t have their next meet until they head to Tempe, Arizona, Jan. 10 to take on Arizona State.


zbrady | Posted: 2 Dec 2014 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

BYU swimmers to compete in Texas, Colorado Mesa Invitationals


PROVO, Utah – A group of swimmers from the men’s and women’s swim team will compete in the Texas Invite Dec. 4-6. Another group will be in Grand Junction, Colorado, competing in the Colorado Mesa Invite.

“We’re expecting season-best, if not lifetime-best times from a few of our swimmers,” head coach John Brooks said. “They’re prepared and rested for the meet. We want as many people swimming at night, and we want people to place high enough to hold their spot to qualify for NCAA’s from this meet. I’m really excited to see how well we do, because they’ve put in a lot of work.”

Texas Invite

The Texas Invite will take place at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center in Austin, Texas.

Haley Bertoldo, Riley Buer, Anna Dahl, Brenna Dickson, Alora Foliaki, Andrea Grant Richards, Hannah Hansen, Emily Harris, Ciera Marsh Keller, Allison McCormick, Vanessa Moffatt, Lillian Moore, Hanna Skaggs, Alexandria Sorensen, Ashlee Spindler and Lauren Shaw Taylor will represent the BYU women.

The men will send Matt Abernethy, Rafael Alfaro, Evan Berger, Levi Jensen, McKay King, Michael King, John Morris, Rainer Ng, Hayden Palmer, Stephen Richards, Seth Russell, Chad Sorensen, James Sorensen, Jake Taylor and Luis Ventura.

The Cougars will be competing against swimmers from Texas, USC, Arizona, Wisconsin, Utah, Wyoming, Harvard, Incarnate Word, Hawai’i, UC Davis and Notre Dame.

Preliminaries begin each day at 10 a.m. CST with the finals beginning at 6 p.m. CST. You can visit the Texas Invite information page for a list of events.

The Longhorn Network will air live finals coverage on Friday and Saturday beginning at 6 p.m. CST. Those who don't have the Longhorn Network can use the WatchESPN app to watch the meet with access through their cable/satellite provider.

Track the meet using the live results page. For complete results, visit the men's and women's schedule pages following the meet on Saturday.

Colorado Mesa Invite

The Colorado Mesa Invite will take place at the El Pomar Natatorium in Grand Junction, Colorado.

Kerra Bispo, Olivia Capocci, Sydney Dahl, Abby Giles, Sophia Lex, Samantha Lingenbrink, Cheyenne McLaws, Alyssa Penney, Emma Richards, Emily To'o and Amelia Wolfgramm will represent the women in Colorado.

The men will be Dallin Johnson, Mitchell Allphin, Cameron Clark, Garrett Greenland, Nathan Henderson and Daniel Kelly.

Track the meet using the live results page. For complete results, visit the men's and women's schedule pages following the meet on Saturday.