Brett Pyne | Posted: 23 Dec 2013 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Kyle Van Noy recognized on 2013 Senior CLASS Award® Team

main image

PROVO, Utah — BYU linebacker Kyle Van Noy was named to his sixth All-America team on Monday, receiving second-team honors on the exclusive 2013 Senior CLASS Award® Team.

This season Van Noy has also been named to All-America teams by Walter Camp (second team), (third team), Athlon Sports (third team), Lindy's (third team) and Phil Steele (third team) while receiving honorable mention from Sports Illustrated. The Senior Class Award finalist was also named the FBS Independent Defensive Player of the Year and the top defender among independents by College Sports Madness and SB Nation. 

The 2013 Senior CLASS Award All-America Team consists of five-member first and second teams representing each of the 10 finalists for the prestigious annual award. This year's Football Bowl Subdivision winner was Penn State offensive guard John Urschel, a 2013 third-team Associated Press All-American who finished his mathematics degree in three years with a 4.0 grade point average before earning a master’s degree in math.

The Senior Class Award is given annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I football and is chosen by a nationwide vote of Division I FBS football coaches, national football media and fans. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, community, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

For more information, visit

2013 Senior CLASS Award All-America 
First Team
Derek Carr, Fresno State
Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
AJ McCarron, Alabama
John Urschel, Penn State
Second Team
Chris Borland, Wisconsin
Alden Darby, Arizona State
Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
Cairo Santos, Tulane