Tradition & Honors | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Tradition & Honors

For BYU football, the past 38 years have been packed full of championships, bowl games and national honors. Since 1974 BYU has played in 31 bowl games, won a National Championship, claimed 23 Conference Championships and earned 18 national top-25 finishes, including four top-10 finishes. Since the 1970s, BYU has established itself as one of the top football programs in the West. The Cougars have won nearly 80 percent of their conference games and 70 percent of all their games since 1972. The tradition continues under head coach Bronco Mendenhall. The Cougars have been to eight straight bowl games, including wins in 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.


  • BYU won the National Championship in 1984.
  • BYU has participated in 31 bowl games, including each of the past eight years, winning si of them and the last four in a row.
  • BYU has won a total of 23 Conference Championships, including a record four Mountain West Conference titles.
  • BYU has a total of 18 top-25 finishes since 1974, including 10 different top-15 finishes and four different top-10 finishes. 
  • BYU has had a top-10 finisher in the Heisman voting 12 different times with Ty Detmer winning the nation's top individual honor in 1990.
  • BYU players have won the following awards a combined 15 times: Heisman Trophy, Outland Trophy, Doak Walker Award, Sammy Baugh Trophy, Davey O'Brien Award. 
  • BYU is one of only five schools in the nation that have had a player win the Heisman Trophy for the nation's top player, Outland Trophy, for the nation's best interior lineman, Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's best quarterback and Doak Walker Award for the nation's top running back, joining Texas, Ohio State, Penn State and Iowa.
  • BYU and Ohio State are the only programs in the nation who have had players win the Heisman Trophy, Outland Trophy, Davey O'Brien Award and Doak Walker Award in the past 20 years. 
  • Seven members of the BYU football program, six players and Coach LaVell Edwards, have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. Former BYU quarterback Steve Young is also in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.