Cougars Sweep MWC Championships


SAN DIEGO -- The conference title will make its home once again in Provo, as the Cougars swept the Mountain West Conference Cross Country Championships Saturday at Morley Field in San Diego.

The women (24) continued their domination in the conference, as they won their 17th straight conference championship holding off and defeating Colorado State (59) by 35 points.

"I am encouraged in what I saw today," women's coach Patrick Shane said. "We finally came together as a team."

The men (39) held off the Air Force Academy (57) and reclaimed the conference title, making it their fifth championship in six years.

"The cadets were very strong today," said men's coach Ed Eyestone. "For about two-thirds of the race it was anybody's ball game."

Pacing the women's team was Laura Turner, who excelled on a tough and challenging course. The senior ran through her competition finishing first overall, with a time of 21:23. For her efforts the Mountain West Conference honored her as the MWC women's Athlete of the Year.

"It was a great race today," Turner said. "I felt really good out there on the course and I know exactly what I need to do in the next race."

Finishing behind Turner was senior Rena Chesser (21:49, 2nd) and freshman Heidi Magill (22:01, 3rd).

Magill was honored as the MWC Freshman of the Year, an award the Cougars have taken home two years in a row. Last year's recipient, teammate Amber Harper finished eighth this year, with a time of 22:37.

"Having Laura, Rena and Heidi finish the way they did, was a highlight of the race," Shane said. "Overall as a team it was a sound performance."

Along with the conference championship, the women placed six athletes on the All-MWC teams. Turner, Chesser and Magill earned First Team All-MWC honors as Harper, Jami Caldwell and Julie Cameron earned Second Team All-MWC honors. Caldwell finished 10th with a time of 22:51 and Cameron finished 11th, with a time of 22:53.

On the men's side, Josh Rohatinsky (25:03) and Bryan Lindsay (25:16) finished third and fourth overall, as they lead the Cougars to an 18-point defeat over the Falcons of Air Force.

Dustin Bybee finished seventh, with a time of 25:22 and Nathan Robison (25:29,10th) and Chad Durham (25:43, 15th) rounded out the scoring for the men.

"Dustin pulled the rabbit out of the hat today," said Eyestone. "He finished the race strong and in a spot where we needed him to be. It seems like each week we have someone stepping it up and Dustin was the man today."

Four athletes for the men were honored as members of the All-MWC teams. Rohatinsky, Lindsay and Bybee earned First Team All-MWC, as Robison earned Second Team All-MWC honors.

"The pieces of the puzzle are coming together now," Eyestone added.

Along with his team reclaiming the conference title, Eyestone was honored as the MWC Cross Country Men's Coach of the Year, an award, which is voted on by the coaches.

"It's an honor,especially when your peers are the ones who vote," said Eyestone. "We have some great coaches in this conference and its nice to know they recognize and see your hard work and effort."

2004 Mountain West Conference Men's All-Conference Teams 

First team:

Shadrack Biwott, Fr., New Mexico

Matt Gonzales, Sr., New Mexico

Josh Rohatinsky, Jr., BYU

Bryan Lindsay, Sr., BYU

Mike Nicks, Sr., Colorado State

Josh Glaab, Jr., Colorado State

Dustin Bybee, Fr., BYU

Second Team:

Abe Wengel, Sr., Air Force

Brian Dumm, Sr., Air Force

Nathan Robison, Sr., BYU

Mark Walter, Jr., Air Force

Delfino Arevalo, Sr., Utah

Nick Wilson, Jr., Air Force

Cameron Clarke, Jr., New Mexico

Coach of the Year:

Ed Eyestone, BYU

2004 Mountain West Conference Women's All-Conference Teams

First Team:

Laura Turner, Sr., BYU

Rena Chesser, Sr., BYU

Heidi Magill, Fr., BYU

Jacquelyne Gallegos, Jr., New Mexico

Elise Greenwood-Bahr, Jr., Utah

Danielle Korb, Jr., Colorado State

Jennifer Thompson, Sr., Wyoming

Second Team:

Amber Harper, So., BYU

Michelle Carman, Sr., Colorado State

Jami Caldwell, Sr., BYU

Julie Cameron, Fr., BYU

Nicole Feest, Jr., Colorado State

Kelly Robinson, Fr., Air Force

Christal Cuadra, Jr., San Diego State

Runner of the Year:

Laura Turner, Sr., BYU

Freshman of the Year:

Heidi Magill, BYU