BYU Women Win Speedo Cup and Men Take Second


LONG BEACH -- For the second time in school history the BYU women's swim team won the 2006 Speedo Cup. The Cougar men finished second (911) behind first-place Stanford (1803.5). The Cougar women competed against 21 other colleges and the men swam against 15.

"The girls swam hard this weekend," said BYU women's head swim coach Stan Crump. "A lot of girls swam really well for us. We had great swims in the mile, backstroke and IM."

The BYU women started out the final day of competition getting first-place finishes from freshman Natasha Menezes in the 1650 free (17:10.44) and senior Brittany Davis-Burk in the 200 back (2:01.86). In the next three events sophomore Leilani Roberts took second in the 100 free (51.14), junior Jamie Bloom finished third in the 200 breast (2:20.47) and junior Angela Goodson took third in the 200 fly (2:05.03).

In the final event of the meet the Cougar women finished first in the 400 free relay of Menezes, Davis-Burk, Roberts and freshman Kirsty Ferrell (3:29.24).

The BYU women took first in the 800 free relay on day two with swims from Menezes, Goodson, Roberts and sophomore Whitney Hall (7:32.36). Other first-place finishers from day one for the Cougar women were Menezes in the 500 free (4:55.30) and the 400 medley relay team of Davis-Burk, J. Bloom, Goodson and Roberts (3:48.85).

The BYU men battled till the end beating out Air Force for second place. In the last event of the competition the Cougar men took the 400 free relay of seniors Jorge Azevedo, Brett Allen and Chris Patience and junior Travis Price (2:59.98).

On day one Allen swam a current national-best time in the 50 free of 19.82. The swim was in the prelims and Allen ended up finishing second in that event (20.03). Allen also took third in the 100 free (44.53).

"Brett swam really fast this weekend," said BYU men's head swim coach Tim Powers. "Other guys had some season-best times. We're swimming well and I am pleased with where the team is at right now."

To view the results of the 2006 Speedo Cup go to