Men and Women Sweep MWC


SALT LAKE -- The BYU cross country teams retained their conference titles at the Mountain West Conference Championship on Saturday at Rose Park Golf Course in Salt Lake City.

Kassi Andersen led the women's team and won her third race of the season with a time of 20:52.7. BYU finished with 35 points, ahead of Colorado State (44).

"It was as we thought it would be," said women's head coach Patrick Shane. "It was a close race. I felt like we ran well and beat a very good Colorado State team."

Andersen started the race by running along with several of the other girls, before making a move in the second half of the race.

"I really like running with all the girls at the beginning," said Andersen. "During the last mile I tried to pick it up. I knew there were girls trying to catch me so I tried to push it. I had a great time."

"Kassi is running really solid now," said Shane. "She's winning races without having to rest yet. We'll make sure she's fresh going into these next couple races, but she's getting the job done."

Rounding out the women's top seven were Amber Duffin (5), Amy Fowler (7), Breanne Sandberg (9), Anne Heiner (13), Jenna Jensen (15) and Tawny Bybee (16).

Five BYU women were awarded All-Conference honors. Andersen, Duffin and Fowler received first team recognition, while Sandberg and Heiner were named to the second team.

The women's cross country team after winning the MWC Championship

With top runner Josh Rohatinsky back from injury the men's team brought home it's seventh conference title in eight years.

"The team ran up to our expectations," said head coach Ed Eyestone. "It was a strong dominating performance that I knew we were capable of doing."

Rohatinsky finished with a time of 23:56.8, beating Wyoming's Mark Korir by nine seconds. He collapsed shortly after crossing the finish line but quickly recovered.

"Josh ran extremely well," said Eyestone. "He expanded on the lead about halfway through the race. It was a hard effort."

Kyle Perry finished third overall and had probably the best race of the team. Also in the top seven for the Cougars was Chandler Goodwin (6), Dustin Bybee (7), Jacob Gustafsson (10), Alden Bahr (11) and Brandon Hebbert (19).

Six members of the men's team were recognized as All-Conference runners. Rohatinsky, Perry, Goodwin and Bybee received first team honors. Gustafsson and Bahr received second team awards.

As the men prepare for their next race, Eyestone recognizes how crucial preparation will be.

"We'll still keep our volume up and get a good work week in," he said. "We want to have a good run at regionals."

The men's cross country team after winning the MWC Championship

In addition to team recognition, both Eyestone and Shane walked away with Coach of the Year honors. Andersen and Rohatinsky received the awards for Runner of the Year.

Up next both teams will prepare for the NCAA Regional meet in Albuquerque, N.M. on Nov. 11.

2006 Mountain West Conference Women's All Conference Teams

First Team

Kassi Andersen, Jr.

Amber Duffin, So.

Amy Fowler, So.

Second Team

Breanne Sandberg, Sr.

Anne Heiner, Sr.

Runner of the Year

Kassi Andersen

Coach of the Year

Patrick Shane

2006 Mountain West Conference Men's All Conference Teams

First Team

Josh Rohatinsky, Sr.

Kyle Perry, So.

Chandler Goodwin, Jr.

Dustin Bybee, Jr.

Second Team

Jacob Gustafsson, So.

Alden Bahr, Fr.

Runner of the Year

Josh Rohatinsky

Coach of the Year

Ed Eyestone

Freshman of the Year

Alden Bahr