27 named to MPSF All-Academic team


PROVO, Utah – The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation announced its 2013 Swimming and Diving All-Academic selections, with 27 members of the BYU Swim and Dive team qualifying for the award.

“I think we have outstanding student-athletes in our program,” head swimming coach John Brooks said. “Brigham Young is a tough school academically and it is difficult to excel both in the pool and in the classroom. I am really proud of all the swimmers who made the MPSF All-Academic Team.”

The men’s team had 14 members qualify and the women’s team had 13 members qualify.

For the women’s team, recipients include Angela Bennion, Jessica Ampuero, Andrea Grant, Amanda Heninger, Alia Welsh, Alina Fong, Kimberly Welch Doroghian, Alexandra Dodds, Dayna Christensen, Taryn Toolson Lewis, Daniele Vaughan, Ciera Marsh and Mackenzie Rands.

Members of the men’s team honored include David Corless, Andrew Rutherfurd, Matt Hopper, Jordan Fletcher, Brady Wells, Daniel Hofstedt, Joshua Tanner, Garret Beaman, Robert Miner, Hayden Palmer, David Armstrong, Christian Hanselmann, Gary Arthur and Stott Bushnell.

To qualify for the MPSF All-Academic Team, swimmers must have a 3.00 cumulative GPA, the swimmer must be a sophomore academically, the swimmer must have completed a full academic year at the institution prior to the start of the swimming season and the swimmer must have completed in 50 percent or more of the institution’s competition in the respective sport.