BYU women’s cross country named National Scholar Team of the Year


NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association named the BYU women’s cross country team the 2020 NCAA Division I National Scholar Team of the Year on Thursday, marking the first time the women's team has won the award in program history.

The Cougars received the national award after winning the program’s fifth national title last month at the 2020 NCAA Cross Country Championships while boasting a cumulative GPA of 3.52. Along with being named National Scholar Team of the Year, the USTFCCCA also included the BYU women’s program on its list of 2020 NCAA Division I Cross Country Women’s All-Academic teams.

Four Cougars picked up individual academic recognition, receiving USTFCCCA All-Academic Athlete honors. Junior Aubrey Frentheway, freshman Lexy Halladay, junior Haley Johnston and junior McKenna Lee Hansen all received All-Academic recognition.

In order to qualify for All-Academic distinction, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25 on a 4.0 scale and have either qualified for the national championship meet or finished top-5 at their respective conference championship.

BYU men’s cross country academic awards
Complete list of the USTFCCCA’s academic awards