Kenny Cox | Posted: 2 Jan 2019 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Zach Wilson named to 2019 TDC Players to Watch list

main image

COLUMBUS, Ohio (Jan. 2, 2019) — BYU quarterback Zach Wilson was selected by the Touchdown Club of Columbus as one of eight quarterbacks named to the list of 2019 Players to Watch.

Wilson finished his true freshman campaign with a perfect 18 of 18 passing performance in a 49-18 win over Western Michigan in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl. He set the single-game BYU record for consecutive passes without an incompletion and recorded the first perfect game in school history and only the second ever in FBS bowl history (Min. 10 passes).

The in-state product out of Corner Canyon High School threw for 317 yards and four touchdowns, tying BYU’s bowl-game record for touchdown passes in a game en route to MVP honors.

Wilson started the final seven games for the Cougars and completed 65.9 percent of his passes (120 of 182) for 1,578 yards and 12 touchdowns. His efficiency rating of 157.23 set the freshman record at BYU. Wilson also added 221 rushing yards and two touchdowns.

The Touchdown Club of Columbus gives several national awards to recognize outstanding athletes, including the Sammy Baugh Trophy awarded annually to the nation’s top collegiate passer. BYU quarterbacks have won seven Sammy Baugh trophies – the most of any school in the history of the award. No other school has more than four.

Overall, the list includes 22 offensive skill position players and seven defensive players.

The seven other quarterbacks joining Wilson on the watch list include Sam Ehlinger (Texas), Justin Herbert (Oregon), Kelvin Hopkins, Jr. (Army), D’Eriq King (Houston), Jordan Love (Utah State), Kellen Mond (Texas A&M) and Brady White (Memphis).

Running backs include Eno Benjamin (Arizona State), Isaiah Bowser (Northwestern), J.K. Dobbins (Ohio State), Travis Etienne (Clemson), Mohamed Ibrahim (Minnesota), Jermer Jefferson (Oregon State), Greg McCrae (UCF), Ronnie Rivers (Fresno State), and Michael Warren (Cincinnati).

2019 also projects a significant number of quality receivers with Damonte Coxie (Memphis), Jerry Jeudy (Alabama), Jacobi Meyers (North Carolina State), James Proche (SMU), Laviska Shenault, Jr. (Colorado), and Tylan Wallace (Oklahoma State).

The defense features linebackers Markus Bailey (Purdue), Kenneth Murray (Oklahoma), Curtis Weaver (Boise State), and David Woodward (Utah State), plus defensive backs/safeties Andre Cisco (Syracuse), Richie Grant (UCF), and Kenny Robinson (West Virginia).

This exclusive group has been selected as 2019 Players to Watch and will be introduced during the 64th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, February 9, 2019 at Express Live! in downtown Columbus.

Recent Stories

spring 2023
Spring Scrimmage, Alumni Game set for March 31

Save the date! On Friday, March 31, Cougar fans will have the opportunity to get an early glimpse at the 2023 BYU…

2023 Signing Day
BYU adds three more to balanced 2023 recruiting class

BYU added three more signees Wednesday on National Signing Day to add to the previously announced recruits who signed…