Duff Tittle | Posted: 15 Dec 2020 | Updated: 24 Dec 2020

Grimes recognized as Boyles Award semifinalist

main image
Grimes semifinalist Boyles Award


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — BYU offensive coordinator Jeff Grimes was one of 15 coaches recognized Tuesday as a semifinalist for the 2020 Boyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coach.

The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced the semifinalist list on Tuesday for the 2020 Broyles Award. The 15 semifinalist were selected from approximately 1,270 assistant coaches representing 127 Division One programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.

A 28-year coaching veteran, Grimes and his strong staff of offensive coaches have helped BYU become a top-10 offense in 2020 while earning a 10-1 record through 10 games to rank No. 14/16 nationally. The Cougars currently ranked No. 10 in total offense at 510.1 yards per game while ranking No. 8 in scoring offense at 43.0 points per game. BYU's offense ranks in the top 15 in 10 different NCAA statistical categories through 11 games.

A 43-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner.

The winner of the 2019 Broyles Award was Joe Brady, passing game coordinator at LSU. Previous winners are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award until the completion of three seasons.

The 2020 Boyles Award semifinalists:

ALABAMA, Steve Sarkisian, Offensive Coordinator / QB
BYU, Jeff Grimes, Offensive Coordinator
CINCINNATI, Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator / LB
COASTAL CAROLINA, Chad Staggs, Defensive Coordinator / LB
FLORIDA, Brian Johnson, Offensive Coordinator / QB
INDIANA, Kane Wommack, Defensive Coordinator / LB
IOWA, Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator / Secondaries
IOWA STATE, Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator / TE
MIAMI, Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator / QB
NORTH CAROLINA, Phil Longo, Offensive Coordinator / QB / TE
NORTHWESTERN, Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
NOTRE DAME, Clark Lea, Defensive Coordinator / LB
OHIO STATE, Brian Hartline, Wide Receivers
OLE MISS, Jeff Lebby, Offensive Coordinator / QB
TEXAS A&M, Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator / S

Proceeds from the 2020 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide a game plan through education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.