Kenny Cox | Posted: 15 Jul 2011 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Heaps Named to Davey O'Brien Watch List

main image

FORT WORTH, Texas - BYU sophomore quarterback Jake Heaps has been named to the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) Watch List today.

As a freshman, the 6-foot-1, 205-pound Heaps broke every freshman BYU quarterback record, including wins, games started, passing yards, completions and touchdowns. The former No. 1 ranked quarterback by started 10 games in 2010, completing 219-of-383 passes for 2,316 yards and 15 touchdowns.

Three BYU quarterbacks have won four O'Brien Awards, including Jim McMahon in 1981, Steve Young in 1983 and Ty Detmer in 1990 and 1991.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of The O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 38 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading tinto the 2011 college football season. Heaps is one of eight sophomores on this year's list.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O'Brien. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 24. The Foundation and Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8.

The 35th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Recent Stories

2022 BYU football season review
BYU Football: 2022 Season Review

Playing a schedule that included a school-record 10 bowl-bound teams in its final season as a football independent, BYU…

2022 Associated Press All Bowl Team
Bywater, Rehkow named to the AP all-bowl team

BYU linebacker Ben Bywater and punter Ryan Rehkow were named to the Associated Press All-Bowl Team for their…