AaronS | Posted: 13 Nov 2013 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

BYU's Kyle Van Noy named Lott IMPACT Trophy semifinalist

main image

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – Nine of the top student-athletes in college football today have been named semi-finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, it was announced today by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, sponsors of the award.

A National Voter Panel will determine the winner and finalists, all of whom will be invited to attend the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet Dec. 8 in Newport Beach.  The National Voter Panel is made up of former college coaches, players, members of the media and past winners and finalists of the Lott Trophy.

The semifinalists include Anthony Barr (LB, UCLA), Chris Borland (LB, Wisconsin), Aaron Donald (DT, Pitt), Devon Kennard (DE, USC), James Morris (LB, Iowa), C.J. Mosley (LB, Alabama), Ed Reynolds (S, Stanford), Ryan Shazier (LB, Ohio State) and Kyle Van Noy (LB, BYU).

A candidate for many national awards, including the Nagurski Trophy, BYU's Van Noy has also been named a semifinalist for the Lombardi Award, Bednarik Award and Butkus Award and is a Senior CLASS Award finalist. More information on Van Noy, including stats and highlights, are available at KVN3.com.

Six of the nine semifinalists are linebackers, two are defensive linemen and one a defensive back.  Three of the players are from the Big-Ten, three from the Pac-12, one from the SEC, one from the ACC and one independent.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy, which has now donated more than $1 million to charities, including universities throughout the country, is the only college football award where character counts.  IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The school of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund with each of the runnerups receiving $5,000 for their universities. 

Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott will be the keynote speaker at the banquet, which will be televised live by FOX Sports at 7 p.m. Pacific time.


The Lott IMPACT Trophy Semifinalists:

Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA

Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin

Aaron Donald, DL, Pitt

Devon Kennard, DE, USC

James Morris, LB, Iowa

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Ed Reynolds, S, Stanford

Ryan Shazier, LB, Ohio State

Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU


Former winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:

2004 – David Pollack, DE, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, DB, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, DT, Wisconsin

2011 – Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame