Kenny Cox | Posted: 1 Oct 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Tanner Mangum named Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year nominee

main image

ROCHESTER, Minn. — The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) in association with The Associated Press (AP) and the Fiesta Bowl organization have selected BYU quarterback Tanner Mangum as one of this week’s three college football nominees for the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award.

In addition to Mangum, Antawn Dixon of Kent State University and Marquez Stevenson of the University of Houston were selected.

Ten times during the 2018 college football season, three inspiring student-athletes from all levels of college football who have overcome injury, illness or other challenges will be recognized as Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Nominees. At the end of the season, the 30 nominees will be eligible for the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award.

Mangum, Dixon and Stevenson join the nominees from Week 1: Caleb Farley of Virginia Tech, Cody Thompson of the University of Toledo and Nate Ricci of the University of Minnesota–Duluth.

CoSIDA members can nominate deserving student-athletes at

Tanner Mangum, a senior quarterback has overcome a number of challenges. Prior to the 2017 season, Mangum announced his struggle with mental health, depression and anxiety. Since then, he has embraced his opportunity to speak out about mental health and be an advocate for seeking help and being a positive influence. His 2017 season ended prematurely after suffering a season-ending Achilles injury, which forced him to miss the last three games. But the native of Eagle, Idaho, quickly worked his way back during spring football and won the starting job back in fall camp for the 2018 season. He has the Cougars off to a 3-2 start, including a stunning 24-21 win over then No.6 Wisconsin on Sept. 15. Statistically, Mangum has passed for 772 yards and three touchdowns while completing 62 percent of his passes (85 of 137).

All nominees are now eligible for the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award, presented at the end of the season. Mayo Clinic, the premier sponsor, will donate $5,000 to the general scholarship funds for the three winners and $2,500 in the name of six other worthy finalists.

In addition, the three honorees will be recognized during a special ceremony during the 2019 Fiesta Bowl. Honorees and winners are selected by a panel of writers, editors and sports information directors from CoSIDA, AP and Touchdown Illustrated, and representatives of the Fiesta Bowl.