Brett Pyne | Posted: 30 Aug 2021 | Updated: 13 Sep 2021

Football announces team captains and leadership council

main image
BYU football announces 2021 captains and leadership council
2021 BYU football captains 2021 BYU football offensive co-captains 2021 BYU football defensive co-captains 2021 BYU football special teams co-captains

PROVO, Utah – BYU football head coach Kalani Sitake today announced 14 players will serve on the team's 2021 leadership council, including four team captains and 10 alternate co-captains representing offense, defense and special teams. The leadership council was determined by a vote of the team. 

Preseason All-American center James Empey, a junior who was also as a captain in 2020, will serve as an offensive captain along with sophomore quarterback Jaren Hall, while sophomore linebackers Keenan Pili and Payton Wilgar were voted as captains of the defense. 

In addition to the four captains, alternate co-captains were also selected to help represent the team in leadership roles with four named on offense, four on defense and two on special teams. 

Running backs Lopini Katoa and Tyler Allgeier and receivers Gunner Romney and Neil Pau'u will serve as co-captains on offense. On defense, defensive linemen Uriah Leiataua, Lorenzo Fauatea and Tyler Batty are joined by cornerback D'Angelo Mandell. 2020 Lou Groza finalist kicker Jake Oldrdoyd and punter Ryan Rehkow represent the specialist as co-captains. 

“We have quality leaders in our program, which is represented well in who the players chose to lead them,” Sitake said. " I know it is an honor for these young men to be recognized by their teammates to help lead our team.”

BYU kicks off the 2021 season on Saturday when it takes on Arizona in the Vegas Kickoff Classic at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas. The game kicks at 7:30 p.m. PDT and will be televised nationally on ESPN.