Blake Dorton | Posted: 2 Dec 2015 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Monteverde and Witt win Pugsley Awards

main image

PROVO, Utah – Jason Witt and Anginae Monteverde were selected as the 2015 Curtis Pugsley track and field athletes of the year. The winners were announced last night at an awards ceremony held at LaVell Edwards Stadium.

The Curtis Pugsley Award is BYU track and field’s highest honor, and is given annually to one male and one female athlete. The award is named after former BYU All-American and conference champion decathlete Curtis Pugsley, who passed away in 2013 after battling cancer. A scoring system based on accomplishments in the indoor and outdoor seasons determines the winner.

Monteverde set the BYU record for pole vault at 14’1.25” during the outdoor season. She also placed sixth at the NCAA Championships and was named a first-team All-American. Monteverde also made the second-best vault in school history (14’0”) during the 2015 indoor track season at the Don Kirby Elite Invitational. She equaled the mark at the MPSF Championships, taking second overall. For her efforts, Monteverde received indoor All-America Honorable Mention recognition.

Witt was named a first-team All-American for both the indoor and outdoor seasons in 2015. During the indoor season, he took fourth overall at the NCAA Championships in the 5,000m. He also ran the second-fastest time in the event in BYU history (13:42.08) at the University of Washington Indoor Invitational. Witt also set the second-best mark in school history in the 10,000m during the outdoor season with a time of 27:54.25. He took third in the event at the NCAA Championships. He also cracked the top five in BYU outdoor history when he ran 13:34.96 for the 5,000m at the Mount Sac Relays.