Cougars win the BYU-Stanford Shootout

BYU's men's golf team easily defeated 14th-ranked Stanford in a head-to-head tournament held at Riverside Country Club on Saturday.

The Cougars were led by the play of Sophomore Todd Miller who shot a 70-66--136 second round score and won all three points in the stroke-play first round. Stanford and No. 5 BYU played two 36-hole rounds. The first round was a stroke-play format with the Cougars collecting 17 1/2 out of a possible 27 points.

"Now I see why in the older days they used the head-to-head format so much," BYU head coach Bruce Brockbankd said. "It's a pretty fun way to play."

In the second round the Cougars showed why they are ranked the fifth-best team in the Country. On the first 18 holes of the second round BYU shot nine-under-par, while on the second 18 the Cougars were red hot shooting 19-under-par.

"I hope you're seeing the start of the finishing touches of the season right here," Brockbankd said. "It would be something else if we can maintain this type of play through the remainder of the season."

BYU returns to Riverside Country Club again on Friday as it plays host at the Cougar Classic. BYU must play well again at Riverside in order to beat No. 10 Fresno State and No. 13 New Mexico in the Cougar Classic.

"I'll take these scores next week again if I can," Brockbank said. "We are playing really well this year."

Along with Fresno State and New Mexico, eleven other teams are coming to Provo looking to knock of the defending champions BYU. The Cougar Classic begins Friday April 21 and finishes Saturday April 22.

Round One Stroke Play Format

Brigham Young

1. Andy Miller2

2. Billy Harvey1 1/2

Four Ball2

3. Manuel Merizalde2 1/2

4. Jose Garrido12

Four Ball0

5. Todd Miller3

6. Kyle Wight3

Four Ball3

TOTAL17 1/2


1. Dusty Brett1

2. Jime Lee1 1/2

Four Ball11

3. Eric Dahlberg1/2

4. Jim Seki2 1/2

Four Ball3

5. Rudy Barreto0

6. Del Dewindt0

Four Ball0

TOTAL9 1/2

Round Two--Match Play Format

Brigham Young

Todd Miller70-66--136

Manuel Merizalde69-68--137

Andy Miller70-69--139

Billy Harvey71-69--140

Kyle Wight71-69--140

Jose Garrido72-70--142


Dusty Brett70

Jime Lee76

Eric Dahlberg76

Jim Seki72

Rudy Barreto 84

Del Dewindt74