Duff Tittle | Posted: 27 Jul 2022 | Updated: 9 Aug 2022

Batty named to the Wuerffel Trophy watch list

main image
Wuerffel Trophy Watch List Tyler Batty


ATLANTA — BYU defensive end Tyler Batty was today named to the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy watch list, college football's premier award for community service.

Established in 2005, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership and achievement on and off the field. The Wuerffel Trophy is named after Heisman Trophy winner, College Football Hall of Famer, former NFL quarterback, and renowned humanitarian Danny Wuerffel, whose life mission is to inspire greater service in the world.

Batty, a 6-5, 275-pound sophomore from Payson, Utah, was selected to the Pro Football Network All-Independent Second Team as a freshman in 2021. He played in 12 games last season, leading BYU in sacks with 3.5 and finishing fourth in total tackles with 43 (23 solo, 20 assist). He also had two quarterback hurries and a forced fumble.

In addition to success on the field, Batty is very involved in a variety of community service endeavors. He created and operates Edward’s Hands, a non-profit organization that provides equine therapy for children with autism, which provides a powerful bonding experience with their parents.
Batty is also very involved with the Built4Life program that develops student-athletes through a variety of professional experiences with a focus on service within the community. In addition, he participates in the True Blue Hero program run by the BYU Football program.  

Semifinalists for the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy will be announced on Nov. 1 with finalists being announced on Nov. 22. The formal announcement of the Wuerffel Trophy recipient is scheduled to be made on Dec. 8 with the presentation of the award on Feb. 24, 2023 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.