Javascript is required.


12.21.84 San Diego, Calif. (61,243) 

No. 1 BYU24

Holiday Bowl VII lived up to all the glamour and excitement of the previous six bowls, plus it had a new dimension--national championship luster--thanks to BYU’s undefeated, untied season and No. 1 ranking. The 24-17 Cougar victory marked the first time in years that a non-New Year’s Day bowl game determined the national championship. The contest was played in typical Holiday Bowl fashion. After a scoreless first quarter in which Cougar quarterback Robbie Bosco was forced to the sideline with an injured knee and ankle, the game began to develop drama. BYU scored first with 8:37 left in the first half on a five-yard run by Kelly Smith. The touchdown was set up when a limping Bosco returned to the lineup and engineered an 80-yard drive. The Wolverines responded by putting together an 80-yard scoring drive of their own, culminating on Rick Rogers’ five-yard touchdown run up the middle.The PAT tied the score at seven. The tie was short-lived however, as a 31-yard field goal by Lee Johnson with time running out in the first half gave BYU a 10-7 lead at the break. Midway through the third period, Michigan went on top for the first time at 14-10 on a 10-yard scoring strike from Bob Zurbrugg to Bob Perryman. The Wolverines added to their lead when Bob Bergeron nailed a 32-yard field goal to make the Michigan lead 17-10 with 14:14 to play. The Cougar offense then produced an 80-yard drive that culminated with a seven-yard Bosco-to-Glen Kozlowski touchdown pass to tie the game at 17 with 10:51 to go. Bosco’s 13-yard scoring toss to Smith with 1:23 remaining made it 24-17. Two plays later Marv Allen intercepted a pass to clinch a 13-0 season and the Cougars’ first-ever national championship. David Mills finished with 11 catches for 103 yards receiving and Smith had 10 for 88. Lakei Heimuli led BYU with 82 yards rushing while Bob Perryman had 110 for Michigan.

Passing Yards37182
BYUSmith 5-yard run (kick)
MichiganRogers 5-yard run (kick)
BYUJohnson 31-yard FG
MichiganPerryman 10-yard pass from Zurbrugg (kick)
MichiganBergeron 32-yard FG
BYUKozlowski 7-yard pass from Bosco (kick)
BYUSmith 13-yard pass from Bosco (kick)
No. 1 BYU01001424