Javascript is required.

Haws named a Senior CLASS Award candidate

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – BYU senior guard Tyler Haws is among the 30 men’s basketball student-athletes selected as candidates for the 2014-15 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Haws, currently third on BYU’s all-time scoring list, leads the West Coast Conference and is second in the nation in scoring at 22.4 points per game. The 2014 WCC Player of the Year has helped lead the Cougars to a 15-7 overall record and 5-4 in the WCC.

In addition to his on-court achievements, Haws regularly speaks at schools and to church youth groups throughout the state about making positive choices, saying no to drugs and doing the right thing. He has volunteered his time visiting a school for handicapped children and spending time teaching them about the game of basketball. He also has visited children with cancer and disabilities in their homes and schools.

A three-time team captain, Haws also put basketball on hold for two years following his freshman season to serve a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Philippines.

BYU’s all-time scoring leader Jimmer Fredette, the 2011 consensus National Player of the Year, was the 2011 Senior CLASS Award winner.

Among the 60 candidates, 27 have grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Three of this year’s candidates were 2013-14 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans® and four are returning All-Americans. More than 20 of the 32 NCAA Division I basketball-playing conferences are represented as well.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®. 

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

For more information on each of the candidates, visit

2014-15 Senior CLASS Award Candidates

Alex Barlow, Butler
Reece Chamberlain, Belmont
Michael Cobbins, Oklahoma State
Pat Connaughton, Notre Dame
Justin Gant, Indiana State
Seth Gearhart, Rice
Jordan Green, Texas A&M
Ryann Green, Georgia State
D’Angelo Harrison, St. John’s
Tyler Haws, Brigham Young
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Ashton Moore, The Citadel
Khufu Najee, IUPUI
D.J. Newbill, Penn State
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Corey Petros, Oakland
Ishaq Pitt, U. of Maryland – Eastern Shore
Normal Powell, UCLA
Chasson Randle, Stanford
Levi Randolph, Alabama
Josh Richardson, Tennessee
Luke Roh, Colgate
Corey Schaefer, Lehigh
John Schoof, American
Matt Stainbrook, Xavier
Juwan Staten, West Virginia
Matt Townsend, Yale
Thomas van der Mars, Portland
Cameron Wright, Pittsburgh
Max Yon, Air Force